A Penny Saved Is a Penny Earned…

Damn, I’m sore.  I don’t remember the last time my body felt like this.  I know, I know.  No pain, no gain.  But my god, my arms weigh 500 pounds each and feel like crap everytime I move them.  I should probably point out they hurt in all the right places, so it’s not like I’ve done something wrong.  And yes, it goes to show that my workouts are being effective.  But I’m ready to feel normal again and it’s only been three days.  How long will it take to move my arms normally again.

On a different note.  Years ago I stopped spending my change.  It doesn’t matter where I am, or what I’m doing, I never dig change out of my pocket to pay for something.  So if something costs $3.01 I give the cashier $4.00 and get the 99 cents in return.  This may sound silly, but I end up saving the money in a jar.  I then end up using it to buy myself presents or to go on trips.  Last year just before I left San Diego I took a five gallon water bottle to the bank to cash in the change that was in it.  It was full.  Most of my friends guessed that it would be around 800  bucks.  I guessed a little higher but not quite high enough.  It ended up being 2,600 dollars that I’d saved during grad school.  Not bad if you ask me.  I spent the money on things for my new apartment in New York. I bough 1.5 air conditioners, a kitchen cabinet and a bunch of other things that I needed.  The whole point of this story is that I’ve been saving change since last summer when I cashed in my last collection.  It’s saved in four medium sized containers that are completely full in my room.  So today, I took the first container to the bank (how about those banks that are open on Sundays) and cashed it in.  It was 246 dollars.  If that figure holds constant that means I have about one thousand dollars all told.  I took the money today and opened a savings account that is not attached to my checking account.  I plan on saving the money for something fun.   The things on my list are:  a trip to Europe, a new computer, a new SLR digital camera, a road trip cross the Northwest.  I don’t know what I’ll end up using it for, but I do know it’s an easy way to save money that I don’t feel the effects of.  I also know that when I start to wait tables I’ll be bringing home 7 or 8 bucks in change each night.  At that rate it won’t take long to actually have enough to do something.