It’s not racist. It’s heritage.

I really want to like my family.  I love them I do.  But I don’t like them.  I want.  I just can’t.  I don’t think I ever will.  If the truth was known I probably don’t like any of them.  Not my mom.  Not my Aunt Doo.  Not by brother.  Not any of them.

The reason:

Well here’s a perfectly good example.  With the onset of the controversy over the Confederate Flag my Aunt Debbie has taken to posting things like this:

truck

She prefaces all of this with “this isn’t racist, it’s just a southern thing.”

And I’m supposed to believe it.  This is a woman who was fired from her job of ten years for making racist comments against a co-worker.  This is a woman who would rather be poor than vote for Obama.  (She is poor.  She supports her grand kids through welfare and public assistance.)  I’ve said for years that my family would rather me come home with a white boy than a black girl.  And I’m supposed to believe it’s not meant exactly as it appears.

And it frustrates me.  Because I call her on it.  I tell her it’s racist.  I tell it’s bullshit.  She never owns it.  So this is what I wrote tonight in response to the above meme:

Because you are a racist. I’ll tell you the same thing I tell Ronnie. I don’t care if you are racist. But stop the bullshitting and just admit it. I’d respect you so much more if you did. Instead you hide behind this “it’s a southern thing” which is white speak for racist. EVERYONE knows it. You know it. I know it. So stop pretending and just admit it.

I no longer care if I piss her off.  I no longer care what she thinks.  This idea that you can post racist bullshit and pretend it’s “heritage” has to stop.  It is what it is.  Just admit it.

There.

2 thoughts on “It’s not racist. It’s heritage.

  1. javabear July 17, 2015 / 23:07

    YES! Thank you. I believe you know I live in South Carolina where a lot of the more recent racist bullshit has happened. So many people around here have gotten more vocal and obvious about their racism. I’ve seen a lot of fresh new confederate flags flying in the area. I am so frustrated with SC and the whole damned south. At least you don’t live in the middle of it anymore.

  2. Urspo July 30, 2015 / 22:35

    As a northerner I am forever bewildered why people would be proud of wanting not to be an American and with a country which was founded on slavery and racism (it is in the Confederate Constitution after all). I am not ‘proud’ of my Puritan heritage which basically tried to rub out anyone who didn’t agree with them.

Leave a Reply

