Look what I got!

Look what Adam bought me on Monday!

Piano

Yes.  Adam bought me a piano.  I’d told him he could have a new kitchen with new counter tops, with new appliances if I could have a piano.  I didn’t care what it looked like, I didn’t care how big or small, just so long as I could have one.  I did secretly hope that it could be a baby grand because I thought it would look swell in our new house.  I didn’t think I’d actually get one.

On Sunday I was perusing Craigslist looking for a trunk for my bar manager at the restaurant.  He’d mentioned that he wanted one for a coffee table.  (I found one for him and he picked it up yesterday) and while I was looking I typed in piano.  The usual list popped up:  antique, very heavy, old upright pianos.  There are a million of them.  Adam had already told me he did not want one like that.  So I scrolled down and what would you know there was a baby grand piano for sale for (DRUM ROLL PLEASE!)  100 dollars.  Yes.  One.  Hundred.  Dollars.  Sure there must me a mistake.  So I emailed the guy.  Sure enough.  It was only 100 dollars.  It had some damage to the cabinet but it played great.  At least this is what the guy wrote back.  I wrote him back and asked if I could come see it the next day.  He said sure.  I immediately emailed Adam and told him we were driving to Turner, Maine the next day to look at a piano.  He was not amused, had his doubts about the piano but grudgingly agreed to go.

So.

The next afternoon I left work early, came home, picked up Adam and we drove an hour+ to look at the piano.  It was in the middle of nowhere.  In fact the building it was in looked a little sketchy.  When I got out of the car Adam told me to be careful.  I walked up to the door of the building and was surprised to see a room full of pianos through the window.  I knocked.  The door was answered by a little old man who couldn’t be a day under 75.  He welcomed us into the room and began to tell us what he knew about the piano, how he came to have it, and what his own story was.

Turns out he and his wife run a business renting and tuning pianos all across the state of Maine.  The rent them to all the recital halls, the colleges, and performance centers.  Seems they’ve done this for 40 years.  The piano ended up in their warehouse, which was filled with HIGH end pianos because someone needed to get rid of it.  Our piano looked great. Adam immediately fell in love with it.  It has some damage to the lid, where clearly it had gotten wet but the gentleman told us he’d checked it out thoroughly and the sound board, keys (they are ivory) and the strings are all in great shape.  It holds a tune and sounds amazing.  Except for some missing veneer on a couple of the legs and the damage to the lid it was awesome.  We said:  WE’LL TAKE IT!

We then negotiated his delivering the piano for us.  He told us he and his equally old wife would load it into the truck and bring it to us on April 27.  They’ll set it up for us, tune it and make sure it’s ready to go all for 200 dollars.

So.

Just in case you are bad at math.  For 300 dollars I’m getting a baby grand piano delivered to my house.  And I love it!  I can’t wait to start playing again.  I haven’t played since 1998 when I gave my piano away when I moved to NYC.  I have boxes and boxes of sheet music.  Now I just have to limber up my fingers and get them to remember where the keys are.

It’s the best birthday present I’ve ever gotten.

Did I mention I turn 50 on Sunday!

4 thoughts on “Look what I got!

  1. javabear April 8, 2015 / 23:05

    That is SO COOL!! It’s amazing, I think, that you got that nice a piano plus delivery and tuning for only $300. Congratulations.

  2. bcaffey April 9, 2015 / 10:22

    It’s BEAUTIFUL! I’m super jealous! I took piano lessons for 18 years. When my parents passed away, I got my childhood piano. It’s a console upright but I’ve had it since 2nd grade. It’s so nice to go in and play my stress away. When is moving day?

  3. catrina56 April 9, 2015 / 12:44

    First of all, Happy Birthday! Trust me, 50 isn’t bad at all. I’m heading FAST towards 60, and I’m OK with that. Secondly, what a find! I always wanted to take piano lessons, but knew my parents couldn’t afford it. When I was 25 I found a woman who’d teach me, and I took lessons for six months. I loved it, and my landlord moved their upright piano to my apartment so I could practice. After six months my teacher told me I had to participate in a recital. I asked what the average age of her students were, and she said NINE YEARS OLD! I said that at 25 I wasn’t wearing a pinafore and Mary Janes to play in front of everyone’s family. Then she told me that she was firing me as her student! It broke my heart, and I never took lessons again. I still want to, though…

  4. usstorageunit April 9, 2015 / 17:33

    Nice piano, and a great story! I must admit I’ve read a lot of your blog and I don’t remember you ever mentioning you played. So I was a little confused. But congratulations! We won a beautiful baby grand that we won in an auction- we bid $2000 and no one else bid!

Leave a Reply

