A Man of No Experience!

An update on the manager saga at my work.

Yesterday I offered the kid with no experience the job of Dining Room Manager.

Why you ask?

Well…

I offered the job to Susan first.  She had lots of experience but didn’t want to work in the fall and spring because of her son’s school schedule.  So I met with her and proposed that she work till October at which point she could go to part time and the kid with no experience could take over.

BUT.

She emailed me yesterday saying she’d taken another job.

FUCK!

I’d already offered the kid with no experience the job of Dining Room Supervisor.

So.

I called him and asked him to come in and yesterday.  And then I proceeded to tell him that he was getting a promotion before he even started.  I promised him I would hold his hand until he could do the job and would set him up for success.

And he accepted.

He sort of starts on Friday.  He has the day off from his other job so he’s coming in to conduct interviews for new servers.  We need to hire 35 of them.  We have interviews scheduled form 10:00 a.m. until 8:30 p.m.  He’s going to be one tired fella when he’s done.  Let’s hope some of the interviewees are winners.

In the meantime I’ll keep you up to date on how’s he’s doing.

Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “A Man of No Experience!

  1. usstorageunit March 12, 2015 / 14:16

    One nice thing about hiring a person with no experience, is you won’t have to un-train him! Good luck!

  2. Urspo March 15, 2015 / 11:26

    I can not imagine how one goes about winnowing out the bad servers from the good ones.

  3. javabear March 15, 2015 / 16:15

    I hope he’s a fast learner and a good people person.

Leave a Reply

