Bloggers from my past.

Every night, without fail, after I’ve hit publish on a blog posting, I go back and look at a random post from the past.  Wordpress used to have a random post button.  With it’s latest update it went away.  Now I just pick a random date and read a couple of posts.  It’s fun to see what I was doing six years ago.

A couple of months ago I selected a random post and read it.  It’s content isn’t important.  What’s important is the number of comments I got on the post.  Around 15.  WOW.  At one time I had a lot of readers.  So when someone comments and they have a blog it usually links to their blog.  So I started clicking on their links.  And only three of them still have blogs that are active.  A few still have blogs that are online but they haven’t posted in a years.  And most of them are gone.  The links are no longer active.

It made me sad to realize that I’d never know what happened to Diva’s Never Die or Daniel, the guy in the Desert, or the Greedy Maelstrom.  These are just a few.

Of my blogroll, it does make me happy to realize that 8 of them are friends with me on Facebook.  Add that to a couple of people who aren’t writers who are on my Facebook feed and that’s not to bad.

Still it makes me sad.  It reminds me of all the people from my past that just faded away.  Never to be heard from again.  Who aren’t on Facebook.  That don’t seem to exist.  That are just figments of my imagination.

🙂

4 thoughts on “Bloggers from my past.

  1. danestabrook March 3, 2015 / 02:41

    You make a great point. I am still slightly in touch with a few bloggers from the pre-Facebook era but those I am still in touch with (you) I have not met in person (you). I will see you this summer!

  2. javabear March 3, 2015 / 15:40

    This virtual community is different from traditional “brick and mortar” communities. I’m glad we’re still in touch, virtually.

  3. usstorageunit March 3, 2015 / 17:48

    I read a number of blogs, mostly ones I have found thru Ur-Spo (the dear). Sadly, I don’t write my own blog. Not sure why. I talk all day at work. Relaxing involves reading.
    Anyway, I’ve enjoyed following your adventures. You are the reason I always tip at least 20%. I’ve even started tipping the gas attendants here! (We don’t pump our own gas in NJ)
    Enjoy Boston. It’s one of our favorite places. My husband went to Berklee and was a pizza delivery guy, so he’s very familiar with the roads. My one daughter went to Wellesley and another lived in Newton for a year. Lots of fun in Boston!

  4. Urspo March 3, 2015 / 21:54

    I resonated with this indeed. When I go back to my blogger.com blog site I see my blog list and the vast majority there are defunct. I used to be sad but now there is an element of anger. Many simply disappeared without saying goodbye. This would be rude and hurtful in ‘real life’.

Leave a Reply

