Racism is alive and well and living in Maine…

Twice in the past week I’ve been reminded that I work in a very small, very wealthy, very conservative, very white, very bigoted town.

According to Wikipedia the town is very small.  In 2000 the population was 3,474.  In the summer time its ten times that number.

The town is rich.  The median income is 54,000.  I have to wonder how the people who summer here figure into the equation.

It’s very conservative.  I’d bet more than 80% of the town is Republican.

It’s very white.  98% to be exact.

And as it’s been brought to my attention in the past week.  Very bigoted.

On Saturday night I had a couple proceed to tell me they left Miami because it was being taken over by dark skinned, third world nation “people.”  I mean, when you go to the grocery store and they expect you to order at the counter in Spanish it’s time to get the hell out.

Today the manager was told that a couple had not been to our restaurant in over a year because the bartender who waited on them the first time had an “accent.”  They didn’t understand why we didn’t hire more “locals.”  The manager apologized to them.  I would not have been so kind.  I told him he should have asked them if they’d like a bartending job since it’s hard to hire 200 skilled people to work an hourly jobs in a town of rich white people.

And I won’t even get into how many times I’ve been told by people that they won’t let the valets park their cars because they don’t want “those types” of people driving their cars.  I’m about 99.999999 sure they mean black when they say “those types.”  The last time someone said that I actually I asked him to clarify what he meant by “those types.”  When he realized I was calling him on his racism he began to backtrack faster than I’ve ever seen.

Meanwhile, it’s frustrating to work a job that you love so much but be surrounded by this type of small mindedness.  Sometime I wonder what they really think of me and my chattering on about my partner Adam and our life together.  I never apologize for it.  I just put it out into the world and if they have an issue with it it’s their problem, not mine.

Ahhh.  People!

One thought on “Racism is alive and well and living in Maine…

  1. javabear March 3, 2015 / 16:47

    I wonder if it’ll ever get better. I like to think the younger generation is more accepting than the older folks, and I think they are about some things. But I suspect racism and bigotry will never go away. No, come to think on it, the racism isn’t getting much better. We’ll have to try harder, Jeff.

Leave a Reply

