Buying a House Part 2.

So our dreams were destroyed.  We were left feeling like shit.  With no house.  With no prospects of a house.

Don’t get me wrong.  Our apartment is perfectly fine.  In fact it’s better than fine.  Based on what I see available in the area we have a great apartment.  Our landlord sucks.  But our apartment is great.

But we want to be real, honest to god, middle class Americans.

Who own a house.

So.  That all came to a head the week after July 4th.  We haven’t thought much about it since then.

Until.

Last November my boss’s mother died.  I’ve explained before that I have a boss who’s name is on the restaurant.  And he’s in partnership with four other people who are considered the owners as well.  The guy from last summer was one of the four owners.  The boss who’s mother died is the one who’s name is on the building.

We have a great relationship.  I love him to death.  And on his worst day he’s miles ahead of most of my other bosses.

Anyway.

Last November his mom died.

A couple of weeks later we were chatting and he mentioned that I should buy his mom’s house.  I jokingly said okay.  OR.  Perhaps he’d just rent it to us.  He then went on to describe the house and in it’s own way sounded exactly what Adam and I were looking for.

As for what we are looking for.  Last summer taught us a lot.  We now know a LOT about what we want and don’t want in a house.  We do not want a house that needs to be completely renovated.  We want at least 1500+ square feet and it needs to be mostly in the common areas NOT the bedrooms and it needs to be on the main level not split into the basement.  We don’t have a lot of desire to entertain in the basement.    It needs to have a decent kitchen that can be made even better with a little money.  There were also areas of town we were more interested in than other.  Also.  After a lot of talking Adam revealed that he’d love to live in a ranch like his Memaw lived in when he was growing up.

So.

We had a list.  The big problem with the ranch scenario is that there are not a lot of traditional oversized ranch houses in Maine.  There are the typical 900 square foot ranches.  But nothing like you find in the south with big sprawling ranches.

My boss’s mother’s house sounded like the house Adam described.

So he suggested I come look at it.  And two days before Christmas in the “I’m bringing you a Christmas gift excuse” I found him at the house so I went by to look at it.  It was pouring rain and he was arguing with his sister, so I didn’t really bet to explore it.  But long story short I liked it.  It was great.  Exactly the kind of ranch that Adam had described.

So that was that.

After Christmas my boss and I had another chat.  He wanted to know if I was really interested in buying the house.  I explained to him that although I liked the house Adam would need to see it and there was no way ANY bank was giving us a loan for at least a couple of more years.

So he said okay.

And that was that.

About two weeks ago we were chatting in the office and he made me a proposal.  He suggested that he hold the mortgage for  two to three years in the estate of him mom, we move in and start making changes and in three years we go to a bank and get a traditional loan and buy the house.  I was floored.  I seriously wanted to know why he’d want to do this.

He told me.  1.  He could guarantee the price of the house.  it wouldn’t go up.  It wouldn’t go down.  We’d all be locked in.  2.  They wouldn’t take a chance on the house sitting empty for three six nine twelve months waiting to sell.  3.  His mom was a die hard, bleeding heart liberal and Adam and I were exactly the kind of people she’d have gone out of her way to help and it would make him happy to know that the house his mom lived in the last ten years of her life and eventually died in would be lived in and loved by people he knew.  4.  He’d be our neighbor from down the street and who doesn’t like to pick their neighbor.

Once again.  I was floored.  I told him that Adam would need to see the house to move forward.

So a week ago Monday I took Adam, his father, step mom and aunt to see the house.  Adam fell in love with it immediately.  His family agreed that it was a good house.  It’s exactly the kind of house he’d been talking about.  It’s 1,700 square feet.  All on one level.  It has a full basement.  A full attic.  Hard wood floors.  A great lot.  The bedrooms are big.  There are a shit ton of closets.  (I just counted I think it’s 14 closets).  A fireplace that opens up in to the formal living room and family room. An oversized two car garage.  The draw backs:  The kitchen is small.  The kitchen needs to be updated.  That’s pretty much it.  The rest is paint.

I immediately called my boss to tell him we were interested.  He told me he’d chat with his sisters and get back to me.  Over last weekend he told me that his sisters were on board.  I told him we’d like to see the house again and take our friends Michelle and Lisa to see it with us.  We did.  They loved it.  Adam loved it even more.  I loved it even more.

It’s now several days later.  Adam and I have (in our heads) knocked down walls, painted, remodeled the kitchen, put in an island, bought new furniture.

Our next step is for my boss to speak with the attorney who’s handling the estate.  There are still some big hurdles and I don’t want to get ahead of myself.  But it’s been suggested that we close on April 1st and move May 1st.

Will it happen.  Who the fuck knows.  Do we want it to?  Fuck yes!

Here’s the photo I grabbed from Google Maps.

Screen shot 2015-02-04 at 10.18.26 PM

That’s two bedrooms on the left.  Entry.  Formal living dining in the middle.  Two car garage on the right.

Keep your fingers crossed.

4 thoughts on “Buying a House Part 2.

  1. javabear February 7, 2015 / 12:26

    Wow! It’s very ranch-y looking, and pretty. Sounds like it has enough storage space for all of your Christmas decorations. Good luck!

  2. Urspo February 7, 2015 / 18:34

    House buying is a vexing process. I too wish you well on this.

  3. usstorageunit February 7, 2015 / 20:31

    Oh, I’m so excited for you! We live in a custom built rancher…. But it’s 60 years old. Paneling in the kitchen… But it’s real wood, not the pressboard nonsense. Pink tiled bathroom. Hardwood floors and a cedar closet. We love it. I sincerely hope everything works out for you!

  4. catrina56 February 8, 2015 / 14:14

    Best of luck to you! The process of buying a house is stressful to the max. But the day you move in, and scream ‘this is OUR house!’ it’s so worth all the stress!

Leave a Reply

