Buying a house.

A lot has been happening in the past two weeks.

Let’s just start with the big news.

Last summer Adam and I had a pipe dream of buying a house.  I say pipe dream because our financial situation does not warrant ANYONE giving us enough money to buy a house.  And I do mean ANYONE!!!

So what changed last summer?

One of the owners of my company in passing one day told me that when I was ready to buy a house let him know and he’d pull some strings and make it happen.  I kind of chalked it up to BS and went on about my business.

Flash forward about three months.  On a whim Adam and I decided to take a look at the house down the street from us that had been for sale since we moved in to our apartment more than two years ago.  I called it the Brady Bunch house and it seriously had been on the market for at least two years.

Here’s a photo I grabbed from Google Maps:

Screen shot 2015-02-04 at 10.31.49 PM

It’s been cleaned up a little on the outside and the big tree is gone on the right side of the photo.

So we called the realtor and we saw the house.

Now in my mind we were going to walk in, fall in love with it and then contact the owner to see if he would rent to us.  Surely he would since it had been on the market so long.  In Adam’s mind he was annoyed that I was even making him waste his time walking down to see it.

So we went.  It was in true 1964 condition.  That was the year it was built.  It had paneling on the walls.  A large color mural in the living room.  The kitchen was orange.  There was bad carpeting.  There were dead bugs in the dining room.  It was not at all in “move in condition.”  So I was disappointed.  And Adam was beside himself.

For the first time ever he’d been able to see past the bad to the good.  He more or less fell in love with the bones of the house.  (I’m over simplifying but that’s where we ended up).  So he convinced me to go to the owner of my company and speak to him about the house.  Which I did.  And he told me to decide if we wanted it and then he’d talk to his bank guy.

So we talked.  And dreamed.  And schemed.  And dreamed.  And we knocked down walls.  And put in hot tubs.  And painted the deck.  And re-lined the fireplace.  Every night for about two weeks we dreamed about being in the house.

Then I finally said to Adam.  If we want to buy this house, for this price, I’m all for it.

BUT.

We should look at least at a few other houses in the area to make sure there isn’t a home in the same price range that we like better.  He dragged his feet but finally agreed.

So.

I got in touch with a friend of a friend who is a realtor and he agreed to show us some houses.

In all we saw about 12.

Some were good.  Some were bad.  Mostly it just overwhelmed Adam.  The first full day of looking he crashed and burned on the last house.  You’d have thought that I’d killed his cat.  After some down time and some bourbon he agreed to see some more houses and we looked again about a week later.

And what would you know.  We found a house we liked better.

BECAUSE.

It had been completely renovated.

Here’s the photo I grabbed from Google Maps.  It’s an old photo before the renovation.  I know because they moved the door on the left side of the photo to the side of the house

.Screen shot 2015-02-04 at 10.54.31 PM

Adam fell in love with it instantly.  We ended up seeing it three times.  Each time was better than the last.  It was a little small for my taste only about 1500 square feet, but completely renovated with two full baths, a basement that was shiny and new, new floors a HUGE yard that went back for miles into the field behind it.  It was AWESOME.

So.

We gave up our pipe dream of buying the Brady Bunch house and decided on the Westbrook house.

So I went to my boss.  And he called his bank guy.

And we started a three week process of trying to buy the house.

The whole time my boss is saying it will happen, the bank guy isn’t returning our calls and we keep jumping through hoops.

And finally.

On a Friday afternoon.

We get a rather rude voice male from the bank guy saying basically that there is no way in hell they are loaning us the money to buy the house.

And it was done.

No house.

No pipe dream.

No moving.

What ended up being about 6 weeks was a practice in if it sounds too good to be true it usually is.

And that was the end of that story.

Tune in tomorrow for the continuing saga.

2 thoughts on “Buying a house.

  1. javabear February 7, 2015 / 12:19

    Ugh. How disappointing. Both of the houses sound interesting.

  2. lj March 26, 2015 / 18:07

    I actually read this report. Don’t give up the dream.

Leave a Reply

