Negotiating!

So I got the job.

Sort of.

No.  I was offered the job.

And for a week I was put off as to how much money I’d be offered for taking the job.

My boss finally told me on Monday.

Ugh.

To say it was a pittance is an understatement.  It was a 10,000 dollar raise.  Which may sound like a lot but when I sit down and think about what the position is going to require, entail, and demand…it’s not very much.  For example:  I’ll have to be on call.  24/7.  If anything goes wrong at the hotel.  If a guest locks them self out of their room.  If the power goes out.  If there is no hot water.  The answering service calls me.  It will not be fun.  It will definitely discourage me from enjoying a bourbon at home in the evening.

On Monday I wrote my boss an email and asked for a 25,000 dollar raise.  Did I think I would get that…definitely NOT.   But you have shoot high and find a place in the middle.  She wrote back several hours later saying there was no wiggle room.  Hmmm.  There IS ALWAYS wiggle room.

I haven’t responded to her.  I was going to write her an email tonight but I think I’m going to do my negotiating in person.  What I actually want is the 10,000 raise PLUS the 7% raise I’m do in May…now.  It’s a nice meeting place in the middle.  That’s what I’m going to tell her.

And.

If she won’t budge, I won’t take the position.  In truth my job is great.  I love it.  I love my staff.  I love my bosses.  I’m very happy.  Why upset the apple cart if the money isn’t worth it.

I’ll keep you posted.

2 thoughts on “Negotiating!

  1. javabear January 15, 2015 / 07:07

    Very interesting. Yes, please keep us updated. And good luck!

  2. Urspo January 17, 2015 / 19:11

    This sounds exciting; good luck and yes keep us posted!

Leave a Reply

