Change is in the air!

I’m the general manager of a successful restaurant here in the area.  It is on the first floor of a 12 24 room hotel.    Actually 12 rooms are upstairs.  12 rooms are in an annex.  The hotel runs 24 rooms.  Four weeks ago the general manager of the hotel resigned.  I knew it was coming.  I’d been told in August that she was leaving.  I wasn’t supposed to know.  That’s neither here nor there.  The point is, the hotel is without leadership at the moment.  There is a woman who’s acting as manager, because the property she manages is closed for the season.  She is not suited for our property and I don’t think she’s very good at her job.  She won’t be there long so I don’t guess it matters.

The point of all this is that I told  all the owners of my restaurant and the hotel a year ago that I wanted to be GM of the whole building.  The restaurant and hotel would both run better if they were run by the same person.  There are many things that fall through the cracks because of a lack of communication between the two.  The week after the hotel GM left I met with the owner who makes most of the business decisions.  This was at the encouragement of my direct boss the chef/owner.  We chatted for about an hour and I expressed my desire to do the job.  I also told her that I didn’t want to be set up for failure because the biggest issue with this scenario is that while I’ve worked in restaurants my whole life, I’ve never worked in a hotel.  I know nothing about them.  There would be a huge learning curve.  The things I do DO WELL are manage people and establish a hospitable feel in my area.  As I told her, the rest can be taught to a monkey.  Anyone can be taught to clean a room.  Anyone can be taught to check people in.  You can’t teach someone to be nice.  At the end of our chat she told me that she’d already tossed my name into the ring and that there were some things that needed to be worked out if that was to happen.  That was more than two weeks ago, with the holidays there’s been no word since.

Until today.

My direct boss, the chef/owner sent an email today in which he blind cc’ed me.  It was an email about the hotel and how to increase revenue in both the hotel and the restaurant.  In the email, he mentioned once again that making me the GM of the building would be a good thing.  The other boss responded almost immediately saying that she was still working out the details but that she was pretty sure she’s going to offer me the job.  I was not supposed to see this email.

WOW!

I have a meeting with her at 4:00 tomorrow.  I’m hoping that she bites the bullet and tells me tomorrow.  I really want to do this.  It would be a challenge.  It would be the chance to learn something I don’t know.  It would be the chance to make myself more marketable should I ever want to leave the company and move on.  It should be a big pay raise.  At least according to my “direct” boss.

So.  I’m writing all of this so that you can send some good energy my way tomorrow.  It would be good to be told that this is happening.  It would be a great way to start the new year!

Keep your fingers crossed.

2 thoughts on “Change is in the air!

  1. bcaffey January 5, 2015 / 10:32

    How exciting! Sending prayers and positive vibes your way!

  2. javabear January 5, 2015 / 19:12

    That’s terrific! I’m excited for you. Hope everything works out in your favor here. Wow. Imagine the possibilities for promoting both the hotel and restaurant. Good luck! Update ASAP.

Leave a Reply

