Breakfast! Ugh!

Hi.  I promise I won’t go away for a year again.

To bring you up to speed.  Since we last chatted my restaurant began serving full service breakfast.  Do you people know when breakfast is?  It’s at the beginning of the day.  Like in the morning.  Like before lunch.  Like way earlier than Maddog likes to be out of bed.  Seriously.  Like it starts at 7:30 A.M.  

In case you don’t know me I’m a night owl.  I always have been.  Probably always will be.  When I lived in NYC I used to say good night to my friends who were getting up to go to work on my way to bed.  I saw the sun come up a lot in NYC on the back side.  Until November 3 unless it involved traveling I can’t tell you the last time I saw the sun come up.

WELL.

That’s no longer true.  My restaurant serves breakfast daily from 7:30 until 10:00.  The first three days we were open I worked every day.  Since then I only have to go in early twice.  On Friday and Sunday mornings.  I know, I know it doesn’t seem that bad.  But it is.  The problem is that I can’t get to bed.

Take Saturday for example.

I worked on Saturday night.  I left the restaurant around 10:15.  Drove the 30 minutes home.  Made dinner (usually I eat at work but missed my opportunity on Saturday).  By the time I’m even ready to think about bed it was 11:30.  I showered and was in bed by midnight.  Then Adam called.  He was on his way home.  So he got home around 12:30 and we chatted for about 20 minutes.  Then finally at almost 1:00 I turned the light off.  To be unable to sleep.  The last time I looked at the clock it was after 2:00.  My alarm went off at 5:30.  The first time.  I got up at 5:45.  I was showered and out the door by 6:05.

So in case you aren’t math majors, I got approximately 3.5 hours of sleep on Saturday night.  So by the time I got to work, finished my shift, got home at 4:00 or so I was exhausted.  So I came home and crashed.  Around 7:30 or so I went out for dinner.  Came home, ate and crashed some more.  I hadn’t been off the couch all night.

This has been typical since I started breakfast.  The reason I’m telling you is that when I get home, and find myself on the couch I don’t have the energy to get to my office and type on my computer.  And thus another day passes and I didn’t blog.  And another.  And another.  Tonight if Adam hadn’t been dvr’ing so many shows that I was unable to watch TV for an hour I probably wouldn’t be blogging now.

That being said, I enjoy it so I need to find a way to be tired AND blog.

I’ll work on it.

In the meantime, stop in for breakfast.  It’s yummy.  It’s just early!

3 thoughts on “Breakfast! Ugh!

  1. javabear November 20, 2014 / 08:55

    I’ve been reading your blog for a few years, and I have never known you to do mornings. Yes, you do early early mornings that are continuations of the previous night, but not the Sleep Then Get Up Early mornings. My condolences, Maddog. Seems the restaurant business isn’t for wimps.

  2. Urspo November 22, 2014 / 13:59

    eating breakfast in a restaurant is one my favorite past times. I appreciate the staff who got up early to get there and get it all done for me.

  3. bcaffey December 1, 2014 / 12:15

    I’m with you. Mornings suck. I am SO not a morning person, but have to get up early(ish) for work. I hope you and Adam had a great Thanksgiving. I can’t wait to read about it!

Leave a Reply

