Dinner with Family!

So I sit in my mom’s kitchen.  Under the squeaking ceiling fan for 90 minutes until it’s time to go to dinner.

Deciding on a place to eat was not much different than trying to solve the middle east political problems.  No one was helpful.  No one had a suggestion.  Until you recommended some place they didn’t like.  We finally decided on O’Charley’s.  It’s an old stand by!

We are supposed to meet at 6:15.  My mom and I arrive at 6:00.  I go in to see if they can accommodate a party of 10.  They tell me it will be a 15 minute wait and I tell them great!  Everyone is supposed to be here in 15 minutes.  My mom and I  sit in the car until 6:15.  I suggest we go in so I can get a drink.  Diet Coke.  I think bourbon might be a bad idea.  So they seat us.  It’s 6:15.

The rest of the group includes my brother, his ex-boy friend, his ex-boyfriend’s new boyfriend, my aunt and her three grand kids.

At 6:30.  It’s still just me and my mom.  This annoys me.  I run a restaurant.  I know how fucked up it is to have a table being held for a party that has not yet shown yet.  My brother and crew finally arrive at 6:45.  No apology.  No nothing.  They come in and get settled.  My aunt is still not there.

She doesn’t arrive until 7:15.  An hour late.  I’m furious.  It’s rude to me.  My mom.  And especially to the restaurant and server.  She also doesn’t apologize.

FINALLY.

It’s 7:15. We are all there.  I tell them they have to oder immediately because I have to leave at 8:00, to meet friends.  We order.  But it’s not easy.   I don’t think I’ve ever been out to eat with such rude people in my life.  They are demanding.  Curt.  Insensitive.  My brother gets mad at the waiter because they forgot to bring his ex-boyfriend’s drink.  Only the waiter didn’t forget.  It’s on the table.  In plain view.  It’s just that the ex-boyfriend’s blind and didn’t see it.

No.  Seriously.  He’s blind.

My three cousins are just pains in the ass.  Demanding more bread.  More drinks.  More pickles.  I don’t remember the last time I’ve been so embarrassed while out to eat.

Finally dinner comes.  They eat like pigs.  Everyone talking with their mouth’s full.  And still being demanding of the waiter.  I’m seriously the most embarrassed I’ve been in years!

And people are still eating but it’s 8:00 and I have to go.  We should have had plenty of time to eat and finish dinner but when everyone was late it’s not my fault.  I’m having drinks with friends at the O’Charley’s in Georgetown.  We are currently in Lexington.

I sneak off to the bathroom.  I have to pee, but I also want to get the waiter.  I want to apologize for my family.  Pay the bill.  And TIP.  ALOT.

I find him and ask that he run my credit card and then just close out the check when they are finished.  He tells me that he can’t do that.  We are in the process of trying to figure it out with the manager when the waiter comes back and tells me they all said not to dessert.  I give him my card.  He runs it.  The bill is 100.  I tip 50.  Apologizing over and over about my family.

I go back to the table.  Tell everyone that I’ve paid the check and that I have to go.

NOT ONE PERSON THANKS ME.

They all just go about being rude and demanding.

I get my mom into the car.  Drive her home across town.

And by 8:20 I’m on my way to Georgetown.

It’s only the first day and I’m already over my trip!

2 thoughts on “Dinner with Family!

  1. javabear October 12, 2014 / 19:31

    So… your family doesn’t read your blog posts about how to be a good patron in a restaurant.

    Perhaps your family doesn’t know about your blog. If so, I don’t blame you. My family doesn’t know about mine, either. Just makes things easier all around.

  2. Brian C. October 13, 2014 / 08:31

    Oh my. That really was a trial, wasn’t it? I wish you well on the rest of your break. I just found your blog and look forward to getting to know you.

Leave a Reply

