In my head!

Ugh!

I can’t get out of my head.  Not even for a moment.  I’ve been fighting in my head all night.

Not with Jen.  She was actually tolerable today.

Tonight it was with Jason.

And who is Jason?

Jason is a hotel guest.  Who sent a nasty letter to the owners of my hotel after his last visit.  Because his treatment was unacceptable.

Oh.  You want to know why?

Let’s see.  He didn’t get a personal note welcoming him back.  He didn’t get a cookie on his pillow like the first time he came to visit.  The staff didn’t bend over to kiss his ass from the moment he walked in till the moment he left.

This happened about a month ago.

I was informed of this when the owner (my boss) forwarded his email to me and the hotel manager with her concerns.

So.

Guess who was back in house today.

You guessed it.

Jason.

I knew he was coming.  My boss had already sent an email telling us to do our best to make sure everything went smoothly.

I entered the story when I see him at the host stand yelling at my lead host.

(Oh.  A little back story.  His first visit to my hotel was last winter.  Where he stayed by himself.  Had dinner in the restaurant by himself.  And then stood at the host stand and talked to me for about an hour before he went up to bed.  At the time I thought he was a very nice guy and had enjoyed the chat.)

So I walk up to the host and he turns his attention from her to me.  He acted as if we’d never met.

And thus starts his tirade.

I don’t have the energy to go into.  But the gist of it is:  He spent 50,000 dollars two years ago getting married at one of our sister properties and therefore we should spend the rest of our lives with our heads stuck up his ass.

He was mostly pissed because we don’t offer room service and the host had told him to go to the bar.  Order his food.  Wait for it and the front desk would help him carry it upstairs.  And this pissed him off.

A world class hotel should offer room service.  ETC.  Bullshit.  Blah.  Blah.  Blah.  I just stood and nodded.  Made a couple of lame attempts at explaining why we didn’t offer room service.  Tried to defend my hosts who’d done exactly as they’ve been taught to do.   Finally I just shut up and listened to him rant.

He finally said, I’ll just take my complaints directly to Tim and Deb.  (The owners)

And he stormed upstairs.

I picked up my cell phone and called Deb.  She answered which surprised me (it was 5:30 on Friday night) and we chatted.  And I got the real scoop on how she feels about Jason.  To put it in her words.  He’s an ass.  A big baby.  But mostly just an ass.

There.

I didn’t feel so bad.

She actually came into the restaurant tonight for dinner.  We chatted some more.  She really doesn’t like him.  Not at all.

The problem is now, I’m in head thinking of all the things that I should have said to him when I had the chance.  Things I should never say to a guest if I want to keep my job, but things I wish that I could say.  I argued with him all the way home.

He doesn’t leave until Monday.

Ugh!

Did I mention that I hate people.  Especially rich pretentious people.

2 thoughts on “In my head!

  1. Urspo September 27, 2014 / 07:34

    These stories make me angry viz. nasty entitled people who raise a ruckus and (worse of all) people coddle them when the best response is to set limits and call them out. If we were better at stopping rudeness less people would get away with it. Alas, jerks like this man will continue to be how they are as others will try to accommodate not condemn. grrrrr

  2. larrymuffin September 28, 2014 / 13:08

    There will always be customers like this, they have attitude and they take it out on you because you cannot fight back. They know it and take advantage. Sad really to have to put up with such nonsense. In any situation where someone has a complaint it pays if the client stay polite and courteous at all times and simply state the facts without emotions. So many people do not seem to know this.

Leave a Reply

