I’m bored!

Wednesdays have become my least favorite day of the week.

First it’s the equivalent of everyone else’s Sunday.  Which means it’s the end of my two days off and I have to go back to work tomorrow.  It’s not that I mind my job.  I really don’t.  Most days it’s actually I kind of fun.  But it’s still the end of my weekend.

Second, Adam’s schedule changed several months ago and he now works on Wednesday nights.  You’d think I’d like the time to myself.  But I don’t.  I find myself being bored with nothing to do.  I need to find a hobby.  Something that’s time consuming.  On a good day I’ll go to the movies, or manage to watch TV.  On a bad day I wander around the house waiting for him to come home.  It actually got worse a week ago.  He now bartends on Wednesday nights and closes the restaurants.  It’s 11:30 now.  He might not be home for another 90 minutes.  I go a little stir crazy.

I never quite know what to do with my time.  Today I needed to get out of the house so I went for a drive.  I had no desire to sit in a darkened theater and I really didn’t have the money to call up a friend to see if they wanted to get a drink.  So I got in my car and drove for about a couple of hours.  I’ve done this several times over the summer.  I buy a Diet Coke and then buckle myself in and start driving.  Sometimes I know where I’m going.  Other times I do not.  I’ve driven north on Route 1.  I’ve driven south on Route 1.  I’ve picked a random road and just followed it along.  Tonight I first drove out to a house that Adam and I had considered buying this summer.  It’s depressing to see someone else living in “our” house.  Then I drove around and looked at other houses for sale.  Then I ended up in Falmouth and then drove to Freeport.  I stopped in Freeport for another Diet Coke and then drove on Route 1 for a while.  Eventually I got bored and set the GPS on home and came home.  I got back here around 7:45.  It’s kind of silly but I like the sight seeing.  I try to go different ways so that I see places I haven’t been before.  It gets me out of the house and gives me something to do.

When I got home tonight I watched HGTV for a while.  Eventually made dinner.  Watched an episode of Orange is the New Black.  And now I’m bored again waiting for Adam to come home.  I really do need something to do on Wednesday nights.  Anybody out there in blog land have any suggestions?  It’s one of the reasons I took up blogging again.  To give me something to do when I’m home by myself.  Unfortunately it doesn’t take a lot of time to write a post.  As it’s now 11:50 and I’m just about finished.

So.  Seriously.  Anybody have any suggestions as to how to spend my Wednesdays?

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “I’m bored!

  1. Bonnie September 11, 2014 / 09:45

    Maybe take up bowling on Wednedays? Or have a standing dinner date with friends? Do your grocery shopping and meal prep for the week? Deep clean your apartment? Just some ideas…

  2. larrymuffin September 11, 2014 / 18:40

    reading a book any book you like on any topic, is always good.

  3. Urspo September 14, 2014 / 17:58

    My Wednesdays are so full and long I can not imagine being bored on them. I too suggest reading or a new hobby. Lots of bible studies meet on Wednesday 🙂

Leave a Reply

