Go ahead. Have one bite!

I think I’ve mentioned that I’ve lost 51 pounds.  I started this little journey on January 8, 2014.  It has not been easy.  It has also not been super hard.  I think I’ve done a pretty good job of sticking with it.  Especially when you consider how slow the weight has been coming off.  I’ve been at my current weight for around six weeks.  It gets frustrating.

You know what else gets frustrating.  People trying to control my eating, or diet for me.

For example:  Tonight we went to a Labor Day party.  There was food at the party.  I tried to eat the salad but it was filled with fruit.  I don’t do sugar, not even natural sugar.  I managed to pull about 5 pieces of lettuce out of it, and spent 30 minutes looking like I was enjoying the best meal ever.  After the party Adam and I, and a couple of friends went to dinner.  I’ve been doing this for 8 months.  I know what I can eat and what I can’t eat.  Unless it’s a cheat day then I eat whatever I want.  And lots of it.  Today was not a cheat day.  So I quickly perused the menu.  It  became very clear that the ONLY thing on the entire menu I could have was the green beans.  I’m not exaggerating.  This is the part that’s frustrating.  Adam and my two friends spent 20 minutes trying to find something on the menu for me to eat.  The reality is, I could eat anything on the menu that I want.  If I wasn’t trying to lose weight.  But I am.  I knew that this particular restaurant was going to be difficult but they wanted to go there and I didn’t mind.  But I hated having to defend myself as to why I couldn’t eat the food on the menu.  That has sugar.  That’s got carbs.  That’s fried.  That’s served with rice.  I’m an adult.  I can figure out what I can and can’t eat.  Let me do it.  If I’m bothered by it you’ll know.  Trust me.  You’ll know.  Tonight I was not.

So I ate the green beans.  And I watched them enjoy dinner.  Then we stopped at the grocery store on the way home and got something for me to round out my dinner.

It was painless.  Easy.

But I really wish they’d let me alone.  Let me make my decisions for myself.

It’s just as bad as the other people I have around me (Adam never does this) that assure me it won’t hurt just to eat one or two.  I had drinks with someone last night who spent the entire time trying to get me to eat things I can’t have.  There’s a chef at work who’s always telling me it won’t hurt, especially since it will be delicious.  The truth is, IT WILL HURT.  It hurts a lot.  Not them of course.  But me.

So let me make my own decisions.  I promise I’ll be nice about it.  And when I’m skinny then maybe I’ll eat the food that everyone else is eating.

One thought on “Go ahead. Have one bite!

  1. Bonnie September 2, 2014 / 11:51

    Congratulations on losing 51 lbs. That’s incredible~ I lost 50 about 3 years ago and have kept it off, but I need to lose a lot more. Once I lost 50, I hit a plateau and the scale just quit moving. Like for 6 months I was very strict with my diet and exercise and not an ounce of change. You’ve inspired me to try again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

