The weight loss challenge!

Two days in a row!  WOW.  How long will it last?

So anyone who’s been reading my blog for more than two posts will know that I’ve struggled with my weight since the beginning of time.  I’ve been up.  I’ve been down.  My lowest weight was in 2003.  I weighed in at 181.  I was running 5 miles a day.  Working out every day.  Eating right.  And was in great shape.  My highest weight was in January of 2014.  I weighed in at 308 pounds.  It was the fattest I’d ever been.  I’m not sure how it even happened.  I woke up one day and I was the size of two people.  I was fat.  Miserable.  And unhappy.

So I decided to do something about it.  On January 8, 2014 I started a no carb, no sugar diet.  I did my best.  I didn’t beat myself up when I had a cheat day.  And there were lots of cheat days in the beginning.  I took my time.  And slowly.  And I mean VERY slowly, the weight started to drop off.  More slowly than any other time that I’d tried to lose weight.  But that was okay.  I kept my resolve and kept at it.

There were things I did right.  There were things I did wrong.  But I kept at it.

My work place had a biggest loser challenge and I managed to lose weight that way.  It was actually very motivating.  Each week out of our checks the company took 20 bucks.  At the end of 14 weeks if you’d managed to lose 7% of your body weight then you got your money back and the company matched.  I lost 22 pounds as a part of this contest.  More than anyone else.

And I continued to plug away at.

And so today I weighed myself, which is part of my morning ritual.  My alarm goes off.  I check my email.  I pee.  I weigh myself.  And after 8 long months I’m finally down a total of 51 pounds.  I feel very proud of myself.

I still have a long way to go.  My goal is to weight 189.  I still have about 70 pounds to go.  But I can do it.  I know I can do it.  I just have to keep my eye on the prize.  And soon.  Well actually not soon.  It’s a very slow process.  But soonish.  I’ll be able to wear a 32 inch pair of pants.  For that matter I’ll be able to shop for clothes in the mall again, instead of the big and fat section at J.C. Penny or Casual Male XL.  I’ll be able to walk into the Gap and buy a pair of jeans.  Or J. Crew.  Or Banana Republic.  Or Brooks Brothers.  I’ll be able to fly without worrying if the seat belt will fit around me.  I’ll be able to fly without worrying that everyone in my row hates me.  I’ll be able to walk up the stairs to my apartment without getting winded.  I’ll be a normal person.

And that will make me very happy.  The app on my I-phone says I should get to my goal weight sometime around June of 2015.  It’s not as soon as I’d like.  But as long as I keep moving forward that’s all that matters.

I’ll keep you posted!

2 thoughts on “The weight loss challenge!

  1. Urspo August 28, 2014 / 00:47

    Good luck; I am trying to lose weight as well
    I’ve been taught to only weigh myself once a week at the same time; the daily thing is not needed.
    I’ve not had any experience using an app; do you recommend it?

  2. javabear August 28, 2014 / 07:33

    Congratulations on the weight loss, and good luck in your continued efforts. I’ve lost about 50 lbs since my heaviest weight two years ago, but I’ve gotten stuck in some poor eating habits of late. Oops. Gotta get re-motivated, and your tales of success are encouraging.

Leave a Reply

