Maine continued!

Okay.  It’s been a long time since I’ve posted.  A very long time.  A lot has happened since then.  Mostly good.  I won’t go into it all but I will tell you some of it.

First.  Adam and I are still in Maine.  We love it here.  It’s been an amazing time for us, and neither of us miss NYC at all.  NOT AT ALL.  We’ve been back down to the city for a couple of day trips and we both get anxious about it just as soon as we drive back in.  It makes my head hurt, my heart beat fast, and I find myself angry at the world.  Nothing feels better than getting back into the car to start the five hour drive back toward home.

We have our next trip scheduled down there in mid October.  My boss is an award winning chef and he is competing in NYC for a very prestigious award.  Adam and I are going down to eat the meal he prepares and to cheer him on.  We are very excited about being asked to attend, as well as getting the chance to eat in this highly prestigious location.  We are going to make a trip out of it.  We’ve bought theater tickets and plan to do some Xmas shopping while we are there.  I’m actually excited about this trip.

Did I mention that I have a boss.  Back in February of 2013 I interviewed as a “working” manager of a new restaurant that was opening in a coastal town in Maine.  I would wait tables, but also serve as the dining room manager.  It was not my ideal job but after being unemployed for 5 months I was desperate.  In fact I’d become so desperate that at the same time I was interviewing to be a desk manager at Sam’s Club in Portland.  I hated my life.  So I interviewed for the restaurant job and then immediately flew to Iowa to do a show.  It was the last show I’ve done.  While I was there, the owner of the restaurant called to discuss the position with me.  He wondered if I’d be interested in the General Manager position instead of the dining room manager position.  There was a long pause while I considered this.  He spoke first asking if I was worried that I couldn’t do it.  I assured him that was not the problem at all.  I was just surprised by the turn the conversation had taken.  WOW.  General Manager.

I started the position on March 26, 2013.  As General Manager.  I was tasked with opening a brand new restaurant in a little more than six weeks.  I knew I’d have my work cut out for me.  It’s been a wild and crazy ride but I’ve been on top of the wave and I think doing a pretty good job at it.  They haven’t fired me yet so I guess that’s a good thing.

Meanwhile, Adam and I have plugged along.  His job is going very well.  My job is going very well.  We are saving to buy a house.  We have two cats.  Life is great.  I’ll tell you more the next time I write.  Hopefully it won’t be two years from now!

2 thoughts on “Maine continued!

  1. Urspo August 27, 2014 / 00:35

    I am absolutely delighted to see you posting! I have missed you and your blog. The FB bits are not enough for me. I thank you and I hope you will post regularly!

  2. javabear August 27, 2014 / 14:52

    Yes, you still have a blog audience! I’m excited to see a new post. Congratulations on the not-so-new-anymore job. I’m glad it is going well.

Leave a Reply

