Unemployed…three months later.

So after I was told to stop work.

I did.

I stopped work.

And for approximately two months I enjoyed my time off.

I enjoyed it so much that I didn’t notice that it was almost December and I hadn’t started looking for a new job yet.

I might still be sitting there enjoying the time off if Adam hadn’t freaked out one day and brought my little vacation to an end.

Christmas was approaching.  We had no money.  We had Thanksgiving planned at our house.  A Christmas party.  A weekend in the mountains.  And Christmas day at our house.

And I didn’t have a job, hadn’t brought any money in for almost two months and had not even started looking for a job.

Once he got my attention I kind of freaked out.

And I’ve been freaking out ever since.

I started applying for jobs the week before Thanksgiving.  It’s now January 9th and I still don’t have one.

I have had interviews.  I had two interviews at Panera Bread to be a manager.  I’m assuming that since they’ve reposted the job on Craigslist that I did NOT get it.

I’ve interviewed at another fast food type restaurant.  A hotel.  And department store.

The department store looks like the best candidate but I’ll be making less than I did as a student. The only saving grace is that it would be working mostly day shifts so that I would be free at night to do theater.  I will starve but at least I’ll be able to design.

There also hasn’t been anything posted in the past few days.  It seems like the things that I’m qualified for have dried up.

And as time passes we inch ever closer to February 1st.  When I got my severance pay we had the good sense to pay rent through February 1.  If I don’t have a job by then there is no way we’ll be able to afford rent and the last thing we want to do is become “those” people….again.

So keep your fingers crossed that something comes through soon.

 

4 thoughts on “Unemployed…three months later.

  1. javabear January 10, 2013 / 08:01

    Consider my fingers officially crossed. Good luck!

  2. catrina56 January 10, 2013 / 08:34

    Mine, too. I felt a little bad for retiring a year ago. When so many are looking for jobs, I was quitting mine. But I got over that the first morning when I got to sleep past 5 a.m. I hope you find something soon!

  3. Bonnie January 13, 2013 / 18:34

    Can’t wait to hear how the interview went!

  4. Bonnie January 20, 2013 / 20:39

    You stoppe work, now you’ve stopped blogging again. Come back! I miss you!

Leave a Reply

