I hate people…

I hate people.

Especially tonight.

We were VERY slow at work tonight.  And when I say slow I mean SLOWWWWWWW!

So when a someone sits at your table for three hours they better hook you up on their way out.

When I went on break tonight I had two Australian buys sitting at table 75.  Their tab was well over 150, most of it in alcohol.  When I returned from break it was closer to 200.  By this time they’d been at the table for close to 3 hours.  When they finally asked for their tab it was 242.56.  This scared me, but what can you do.

The called me over, handed me the check and their money and told me the change was mine.

I took a big breath and counted the money.

They’d given me 245.00.

WHAT THE FUCK?

Let me repeat that.

WHAT THE FUCK!!!!

Yes, you heard that right.  After three hours of drinking, they left me 2.44 cents on a 250 dollar check.

I wanted to pick up the fork that was on the table and drive it into their hearts.  Assuming they have hearts.

I didn’t even know what to say.

This is hard enough to stomach when you are busy and can make up the sales, and a long table time.  When it’s three hours and their  check makes up half your sales for the whole night it pretty much sucks.

When it was all said and done it cost me 8 dollars to wait on the fuckers.  I don’t think this is how it’s supposed to work.

I really do hope they got hit by a cab on their way home tonight.

No.

Seriously.

I do.

4 thoughts on “I hate people…

  1. Java January 31, 2012 / 15:41

    Are Aussies notoriously poor tippers? If I recall, you have said that Canadians are poor tippers, too.

    I hope your next night at work nets lots of big tips.

  2. Urspo January 31, 2012 / 22:54

    Kiddo,
    Please – get out of this profession as soon as you can, before it kills you; the amount of agony it makes in you worries me you will get sick. It saddens me to see you so unhappy.

  3. Catrina February 1, 2012 / 18:15

    Some restaurants around here (St. Louis area) have stuff printed on the tickets about what your tip should be. One even has the percentages on the ticket…you know, for those dumb Aussies who don’t know!

  4. Rick April 23, 2012 / 05:30

    WTF is right. But…I have been with others and when ptiching in for the ticket they NEVER consider the tip as part of it. They stiffed you for at least a $20 but should have given you $50.
    On the other hand, during the holidays last year I was dining with my elderly father who eats soooooo slow so feeling guilty and the holiday spirit I gave the guy $40 + on a $50 ticket. As we continued to sit and finish coffee he never came back by say hey or ney. I hate people too.

Leave a Reply

