This is not what I ordered!!!

I’ve been waiting tables for a very long time.  I’ve actually been in the restaurant business off and on for 30 years and tonight I actually saw something that I’ve never seen before.

It did not happen to me but I watched it unfold.

The food runner delivered the food to table 411.

The mother at the table called the waiter over, furious.

THIS IS NOT WHAT WE ORDERED!!!

But you asked for the fajitas.

YES, BUT THIS IS NOT WHAT WE ORDERED!!!

But it’s a fajita.

YES, BUT THIS IS NOT WHAT WE ORDERED!!!

This went on for a bit.  Finally the lady asked for the menu and pointed to the photo in the menu and said,

THIS IS WHAT WE ORDERED.  NOT THIS.

Seems they’d ordered from the picture in the menu and not from the menu description.  In the photo the fajitas are already made.  This is what they were expecting.

All of this is okay and easy to understand the problem.

What happened next is not.

The table refused to eat the fajitas as they came.  They wanted them taken to the back and to have someone roll them for them.

So the waiter picked up the plates, went to the kitchen and spent the next five minutes rolling fajitas.

Everyone in the kitchen stood around and laughed as this occurred.

This is just one step short of asking the waiter to cut your steak for you.

And I sure as hell wouldn’t yell at a waiter and then ask them to take my food to the kitchen and have them “fix” it for me.

3 thoughts on “This is not what I ordered!!!

  1. Java January 25, 2012 / 17:02

    Oh for cryin’ out loud! This is definitely a first world problem.

  2. Catrina January 25, 2012 / 20:12

    Pretty gutsy broad if you ask me! How in the world did the server NOT spit and wipe his shoes on those fajitas while rolling them?

  3. Dirk January 26, 2012 / 01:30

    Just one more example of lazy damn people with a false sense of entitlement. And they are legion…

Leave a Reply

