Happy New Year!!!

It’s been six months.

So to catch everyone up.

Adam and I are still together.  In one week it will have been three years since our first date.  Amazing isn’t it.

I’m still waiting tables.  It continues to suck at my soul but what’s a girl to do?

I haven’t done a lighting design since last spring.  I have to admit that it’s my fault.  I’m quite lazy at finding work.  I use the excuse of needing to make more money.  The truth is, I’m just lazy.

I became a supervisor at my restaurant.  I don’t know if that’s good or bad.  I get paid a mere 15 bucks an hour which is a fraction of what I make waiting tables but it’s at least a different experience.  I did it a lot last fall.  Not so much since they hired a couple of new managers in the fall.

Christmas was last week.  Adam and I spent the weekend in Maine.  It was probably the most relaxing Christmas since we met.  We were at Michelle and Lisa’s for the weekend.  If it had not been for their other house guest who was the fifth wheel life would have been perfect.

We did not exchange gifts.  Originally we were going to save out money and then buy a new sofa in the spring.  Things have changed a little since then.

Adam quit his job and is now a waiter.  He hates it.  A lot.  He now understands how I feel.

Harper, Adams’s 16 year old cat died in October.  I still miss her.  A lot.  In fact just last night I dreamed that she was a ghost in our house and wandered around crying.  I could see her and no one else could.

Michelle came to visit in October.  It was great.  Adam was out of town and it was just the two of us for the first time in about five years.

My mom and my Aunt Doo and my Aunt Debbie came to visit in September.  It was an adventure in and of itself.  It’s worth at least a weeks worth of posts.

That’s the year in a nut shell.

And the year to come.

As of today.

1/1/2012.

Adam and I are planning to move to Portland, Maine in the late summer, early fall.

I know, I know, I know.

Will I have to change the title of my blog to Maddog in the Small City?  Who knows? We’ll talk about that as the year progresses.

As for new years resolutions:

I’d like to lose 50 pounds by the time we leave the city.  I’ve done it before.  I can do it again.

I need to save 10,000 dollars by the end of September.  I’ll tell you why later.

I need to get a job in Maine.  I’ll tell you my plan later.

I want to really try to write every day.  I have a book in my head that I want to really work on committing pen to paper.  I have no idea whether it will amount to anything, but I’d at least like to tell my story.

That’s about it.

If you are out there and reading, leave a comment.  It would be nice to know at least someone is out there.

It’s nice to be back

Maddog.

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year!!!

  1. Java January 2, 2012 / 01:43

    And it’s wonderful to have you back!
    You tell a compelling story. I suspect if you can commit yourself to writing the story that wants to get out, you will find success. I can’t say exactly what “success” means. That’s for you to determine. Good luck.

    I know you have talked about moving out of NYC for a while now. How exciting that you have an idea about doing that. Is it a definite plan? I’ve been talking about moving out of The South (TM) for a long time. 2012 is the year we hope to do it. We don’t have a specific plan, though.

    I look forward to reading your blog again. I’ve missed you.

  2. Kelly January 2, 2012 / 07:17

    Yup.. still here… Happy New Year and thank you for the beautiful card!

  3. Urspo January 2, 2012 / 16:21

    Happy Joy!
    I stop by regularly, hoping to see you post. I was delighted to see you do so, and even more to hear about all your plans. Thank you for the six months update; i am saddened for the negatives, but hopeful for your move out of the city and (with hope) to a new chapter in Life.

  4. Dirk January 24, 2012 / 17:49

    You’re back!

    I’ve missed reading you (and congrats on your upcoming 3rd anniversary — The Fella and I will be celebrating 4 years at the end of March).

    Looking forward to hearing about the big changes you and Adam are making in your lives.

Leave a Reply

