What to write about?  What to write about?  What to write about?

Hmmmm?

It’s 5:04.  Where did the night go?  I’ve been home for 2.5 hours.  I really don’t know what I’ve spent my time on.  I do know it’s all been spent sitting at my computer.  I should have gone to bed two hours ago.  I’ll be tired again tomorrow.

Adam and I are going to Detroit this weekend.  We are seeing Adam’s good friend Joe in a show this weekend.  It will be good to support him.  It will also be good to see really bad community theater.  We are seeing two productions this weekend.  And it will be more than anything, good to be out of the city.  I like being out of the city more and more.

Work has been sucky for the past two nights.  VERY slow.  Which is surprising.  We should be gearing up for the big push into summer.  But so far — nada.  Let’s hope it starts to get better.

This week is Fleet Week in NYC.

Thousands upon thousands of sailors descend on NYC this weekend.  This is a good thing…in theory.  Not so much in practice.

Here’s my take on the whole thing.

Soldiers/Sailors don’t tip.  They get a 15% discount.  But they don’t tip.  I’ve had people try and explain it, saying the don’t make any money.  I appreciate that.  But they make enough money to come into my restaurant and eat. Then they make enough money to tip.

Have you ever seen the movie Animal House?  That’s how a million sailors act when they invade NYC in one weekend.  They have two objectives.  To get and stay drunk and to get laid.  Not necessarily in that order.  They come into the restaurant drunk.  They get drunker.  And then get pissed when you tell them you can’t serve them any more.

They like to fight.  Last time I worked during Fleet Week I watched two female sailors go at each other, until the cops came and broke it up.  Girls fighting is not nearly as sexy as some would have you believe that it is.

They like to leave without paying.  I don’t really think they do this on purpose.  You get drunk.  You forget you have to pay.

Did I mention they get drunk.  You know what happens when they get drunk?  They throw up.  And it’s not always in the bathroom.

So although it sounds romantic.  I would pay to not have to work Fleet Week.  So for the last two years I’ve taken off.  It’s one of the reasons we are going out of town “this” weekend.  So that I don’t have to wait on HOT but very drunk sailors.

It’s sort of like this:

2 thoughts on “

  1. Tom May 25, 2011 / 21:05

    I don’t work in a restaurant here, but try having 3 Navy bases, and shipyards within 15 miles of where you live…

  2. Urspo May 25, 2011 / 23:38

    well that is a fantasy shot down!

Leave a Reply

