We are all on a diet…

So said the table of seven, that was a part of a party of 40 high school kids that I waited on tonight.

The largest girl at the table might have been a size 8.  None of them were close to being over weight.

What they were, though, was annoying.

I’ve probably told you before that we can get school groups in and out in about an hour.  This group was scheduled at 5:00.  They arrived at 5:15.

And I approached the first table and was met with:

What can I get you guys to drink?

“What do you have”

I tell them.

“Can you say that again?  Slower”

I do.

“I’m not sure.  What are you having Heather?”

“I don’t know?  What are you having Courtney?

“I don’t know…”

Finally I get them to tell me their drinks.

What would you like to eat?

“We haven’t looked yet?”

These are you choices ________________ .

“Can you give us some time to look and then come back?”

Actually.  I can’t.  These are you choices ___________.

“Okay.  I’ll take the bacon cheeseburger.  But I don’t want the bacon.  Or the cheese.  Or the bun.  Or the french fries.  What can I get instead of the french fries?

You can have a salad.

“But I don’t want a salad.  What else can we get besides french fries or salad?”

You can have broccoli.

“Okay.  I’ll take broccoli.  And you got the order right?  Bacon cheeseburger, no bacon, no cheese, no bun, no french fries, with broccoli.

Yes.  I got it.

And then I went on to the next person.  There were seven of them  Each order as complicated as the next.  There were other tables of their friends that were already getting their food and I still hadn’t put their order into the computer.

And when I finally had all of their orders and I was about to walk away from the table to wait on the other three tables of their friends, one of them says:

“Oh.  And we’ll have water for the table.”

Ugh.

PS.  They all DID manage to scarf down the chocolate chip cookies I brought them for dessert.  Of course they might be throwing up in the bathroom as I type this but that’s a different story.

 

5 thoughts on “We are all on a diet…

  1. Java March 24, 2011 / 05:33

    It’s a disease, the way girls like that obsess over that sort of thing.

  2. Peter March 24, 2011 / 05:59

    One word: KIDS!

  3. Peter March 24, 2011 / 05:59

    Oops those were 3

  4. Urspo March 27, 2011 / 01:19

    You have written about many a horror story about awful customers, but a group of young girls sounds the most scary to me!

  5. Dirk April 1, 2011 / 13:42

    You can bet their mothers sound the same way when they order. Kids learn that shit first-hand…

Leave a Reply

