Monday night…

I’m tired.  Adam and I went to see Kathy Griffin tonight.  It’s her one woman Broadway show.

First.

If your friend has to explain all the jokes to you, then you should probably get your head out of your butt and become more familiar with politics and pop culture.  You should also not say “huh” every time she tries to explain it, and you really should NOT sit behind me.  You were annoying as fuck.

As for the show.  It was an hour and 45 minutes too long.  The show ran two hours.

Kathy’s funny.

But you were never quite sure what was off the cuff.  What was planned.  What she was thinking.  Which is all fine except that she kept getting off subject.  You’d find yourself anxious to hear her story about Michelle Bachmann only to have her go off on a story about Whitney Houston.  She managed to come back to the story 99% of the time.  But it made for a lot of effort.  I am not also sure that we heard a lot of new stories.  I will give her this, she can make just about anything funny.  And she likes the word “fuck” a lot.

It also didn’t help that I was tired.  I slept like a rock last night…until 4:00 a.m.  At which point I was startled awake and five hours later I was still trying to go back to sleep.  I didn’t manage it until after Adam left for work.  Of course around 10:00 Harper decided that she needed to be petted whether I liked it or not.  So she comes and stands with her nose three inches from your and paws the comforter until you reward her.  Most of the time if you don’t respond she’ll snuggle up close to you and go to sleep.  Today she did not, she kept pawing and meowing, until I finally woke up enough to play with her.  Finally she got enough and curled herself up next to me and went to sleep.  She was in the same spot when I left to go downtown a few hours later.

So I’m hoping that I can get a regular night’s sleep tonight.

I’ll let you know.

 

Leave a Reply

