Don’t blame me.

I was doing so well, and then bam I miss almost an entire week of posting.

Fuck.

So Maine was kind of sucky.  Of course it was Adam’s fault, not that I’m one to point fingers.

On Friday morning Adam got up early to get the car.  I showered and packed while he was gone.

He managed to get the car in time to go to McDonald’s for breakfast which is one of his favorite things to do.

He got here around 10:30 and we were in the car headed north by 11:00.

Of course, as I’m walking down the stairs to get in the car I realize that I only have one of my gloves.  I mention this and say, what the fuck, do I really need gloves anyway.  And Adam says, “go back and get your gloves.  We aren’t even in the car yet.”

So I go back up the stairs, unlock the door, set my bags down, and go find my glove.

I retrace all of my steps and there you go, we are on our way.

Friday was great.  We saw all of our friends.  We chatted.  Michelle and Lisa bought us dinner in honor of Adam’s birthday.

And then it’s time for bed.

Which is when I realized that I couldn’t find my dopp kit.  Besides having my deodorant, tooth brush, etc in it.  It also has my medication in it.

We both searched the car.  We search all of downstairs thinking I might have dropped it there, when I came in, because I had to go to the bathroom.

Alas.  It was nowhere to be found.

And thus began the sucky part of the weekend.  I take four medications for depression.  It’s not like I’m going to become suicidal if I don’t take them.

What it does mean:

1.  I won’t be able to sleep.  I’m not sure which one does it, but I can’t sleep through the night if I don’t take it.  I’ll go to sleep, wake up around 90 minutes later, and watch the clock the rest of the night.

2.  I become woozy and feel like I’m about to have an aneurism.

So when I crawled out of bed on Saturday I was beat.  I slept about two hours.  And by the middle of the afternoon the crazy head stuff was happening.

Saturday was filled with some serious conversations.

By the time we went to bed at 11:00 I was a zombie.

And of course I went to bed and I don’t think I slept at all.  I was a mess by the time we got up on Sunday morning.  By early afternoon, we’d decided to cut our losses and come home early.  We left Maine around 2:00.

Of course the problem presented  then was that it was 2:00.  Adam is good for driving till about 5:00 in the evening.  It was going to be much later than that when we got home.  So it was going to be a chore for him to stay awake which meant that I couldn’t doze on the trip because I needed to make sure that he wasn’t dozing.

It was a VERY long drive home.

Clearly, we made it one piece.  I do have to admit there were a few times we were tense with each other.  I felt like shit, and Adam can get a little cranky when he’s tired.  Luckily we didn’t kill each other.

The dopp kit was sitting on the table right where I placed it.

And there you have it.  The whole trip would have been great if Adam hadn’t told me to go back upstairs and get my glove.

Thus.

It was ALL his fault.

4 thoughts on “Don’t blame me.

  1. Lemuel February 24, 2011 / 06:28

    It’s one of the benefits of marriage that you get to blame the spouse.
    It is. I saw it in the contract.
    😀
    So sorry that your weekend away sucked the big one.

  2. Sarah February 24, 2011 / 13:30

    How do put up with it? You’re a saint.

  3. Karen February 24, 2011 / 16:25

    Ok so once we drove to Florida (from New Jersey) any my husband did not pack enough insulin. Of course we didn’t realize he didn’t have enough until about tree days into the trip. But we went to a drug store chain – I think it was CVS – and explained to the pharmacist that we needed insulin, and he called the pharmacy up here (which was the grocery store) and they were able to transfer the prescription. We were able to get enough for the trip, no problem. You might try that the next time.

  4. Urspo February 24, 2011 / 22:57

    If it is any consolation, I get calls from patients all the time that they have forgotten their medications, and they are away on a trip without any. It is a not uncommon tale!

Leave a Reply

