Maddog’s Very Long Day…

Yesterday was a very long day.  I got to bed around 4:30 on Thursday night and was out of bed at 9:00 to head to the doctor.  I got there at the exact time of my appointment.  This is virtually impossible to do in NYC.  You are either 20 minutes early.  Or 20 minutes late.  I’m always early.  At least I try to be.

The appointment was pretty routine.  I’ll tell you more when I know more.

I then went to work, where I was supposed to work on creating a new side work chart.  I didn’t want to do this but Daniel, my boss friend, volunteered me.  What was I supposed to do?  Unfortunately I was early.  By two hours.  So I bought lunch and hid in a closed section of the dining room.  This however, did not stop people from coming by and asking why I was there so early.  Of course the people that were supposed to be meeting me were late.  So we barely got anything accomplished once they got there.  By this time I’m exhausted.  It’s hard at 46 to run on only four hours of sleep.  So when I was offered the opportunity to go home, I took it.  I need the money but sometimes you have to take care of yourself.

So I came home and napped on the couch while Adam worked on a cake.  The cake is for a bar mitzvah that was today.  I tell you about that later.  I napped.  We climbed into bed around 11:30.  I don’t remember him turning off the TV or the light.  The only thing I remember is him nudging me this morning telling me it was time to get up.

A good night’s sleep is an awesome thing.

2 thoughts on “Maddog’s Very Long Day…

  1. Urspo February 13, 2011 / 08:50

    a good night’s sleep is vital! I spend a lot of my job badgering people to give up the iphone/TV etc. and get some proper sleep.

    when in doubt, get horizontal.

  2. Lemuel February 13, 2011 / 13:45

    Over the years I’ve read about the schedule you keep, and just reading it made me tired! 🙂 I’ve got to get my sleep – always have. I was the guy in the college dorm that was waking up when everyone else was just going to bed.

Leave a Reply

