Santa Claus is coming to town…

Santa Claus came to day.

And I won.

Today.  Almost a month after Christmas, Adam and I finally exchanged gifts.

And why you ask?

We don’t do it before Christmas because of the party etc and with the schedule this year we would have had to do it almost a week and a half before.  We don’t want to do it on the road because then we have to travel with everything which would suck.  Big time.  So we do it after Christmas.  Last year we did it the week we got back.  Unfortunately we had house guests.  So today was the first real time we’ve had.

So we ran errands this afternoon.  Went to the grocery store.  We came home and Adam made lasagna and while it was baking we opened presents.  We are both always a little concerned that one is spending more than the other.  Which last year was the case.  I spent way more than Adam did mostly because I wanted to buy him everything he wanted plus everything I could think of to give him.  This year it was very even.  Which made us both feel good.

I say I won because he managed to get me something that I mentioned in passing wanting at a design store and NEVER in a million years would have guessed that he would get.  I almost cried when I realized what it was.  It’s a slide light. Basically it’s a long fluorescent type fixture that holds slides.  It’s decorative.  And fun.  And like I said, never in a million years did I expect to get it.  I was REALLY shocked.

As for Adam he mostly got things he already had.  In fact four of his gifts were repeats.  He asked me to get him Patti Lapone’s new biography so I did.  His father got it for him as well.  He mentioned that he wanted a new micro plane cheese grater.  I know.  But it’s what he wanted.  Last summer we looked at a lime squeezer in Maine that he loved.  So I had Michelle bring it down from Maine when she came to visit in December.  It was just a little something for his stocking.  He bought one while we were in Texas.  And the best.  Very best.  Do you remember me telling you about the Carol Burnett memoir that he got for his Aunt Sue.  That she gave him instead.  Well what would you know.  He had one wrapped under the tree.  So now he has three gifts that he has two of and one gift that he now has three of.  I told him tonight that he was returning them and getting something he liked.  End of story.  (PS.  I don’t remember who said it but someone said they’d like to buy it from me.  Email me and we’ll talk.)

So Adam got presents he already had.  Actually I think his favorite present was a new cook book on baking.  I don’t remember the name of it, but it took old recipes and gave them a new twist.  He’s already put together a list for the store tomorrow so that he can make an apple bundte cake.  (I actually gave it to him so he’d make me things but told tell him I told you so.)

The whole evening was very nice.  We were on the floor in front of the tree, with a glass of wine, christmas music playing opening gifts, declaring our love for one another.  It was either really romantic or totally cheesy.  I don’t know which.  Of course he made fun of me for being so sentimental but I can’t help it.  I cry at the littlest things.

Now it’s five hours later.  I’ve had one too many glasses of wine.  We both fell asleep on the couch watching Saturday Night Live.  So I’m going to shower.  I’ll get back to the Christmas Story tomorrow.

No proofing, so ignore anything that doesn’t make sense etc.

2 thoughts on “Santa Claus is coming to town…

  1. Lemuel January 16, 2011 / 14:07

    *sigh*
    This sounds so O. Henry and so Currier and Ives. To me that’s a good thing.
    *sigh* (again)

Leave a Reply

