Christmas in Texas

Merry Christmas everyone!

It’s 9:15 on Christmas night.  I’m sitting the living room of Adam’s dad and stepmom pretending to be interested in the Cowboys football game.  Our suggestion to watch a movie was vetoed by his father.  Instead I’m on Adam’s laptop, he’s playing Angry Birds on his I-phone, his stepmom is on her laptop and his father is engrossed in the game.  It’s definitely a family event.

It’s been a long week.  I drove from NYC to Kentucky on Sunday.  I then spent all day Monday in Kentucky.  I did some shopping.  I’d tell you what I got but then the surprise for Adam would be spoiled.  We won’t be opening presents until sometime after the 1st.  I would still like to pick up a few more things I just need to find the time.

From Kentucky I drove to Springfield, MO where I spent the night at a Ramada Inn.  I love Priceline.  I was lucky enough to have dinner with my friend Sarah that used to work with me in NYC.  Along my drive to Springfield I stopped in Santa Claus, Indiana.  What better place to buy an ornament than in Santa Clause.  Unfortunately they were very picked over.  However, while I was asking a question a very nice lady over heard me and told me that I might be able to find what I was looking for a couple of towns over in an antique store.  This began and afternoon of antique shopping.  I stopped at every antique mall advertised on barns driving across I-64.  It added about three hours to my trip but it was worth it.  I didn’t buy anything but I did find a lamp that I love.  I texted a photo to Adam but I was already back on the highway before he responded.  I’m going to make him take a look on our return trip.  If it’s still there I’m pretty sure I’m going to buy it.

So I had a couple of beers with Sarah and a burger called it a night early to prep for the last leg of my trip.  I woke up at 6:00 a.m. with the worst headache ever.  If I hadn’t known better I would have sworn I’d drunk the whole keg.  I could barely open my eyes.  I forced myself to go back to sleep and when the alarm went off it was just as bad.  I reset the alarm for an hour later and it was still bad when it went off again.  Unfortunately I couldn’t put off driving any longer.  I showered, got a diet coke and some advil and hit the highway.  My head did not stop hurting till the I was awake the next morning.

Which unfortunately was VERY early.

There is more to tell but I can’t sit here and be rude.  The game is almost off and I think I’m going to get another piece of red cake.

More tomorrow.

Hope everyone had a great Xmas.

PS.  I’m not proofing.  I’m publishing.  Please excuse any typos.

3 thoughts on “Christmas in Texas

  1. Urspo December 27, 2010 / 22:13

    and a prosperous new year to you.
    I hope it isn’t too nasty where you are viz. the weather/snow.

  2. Bonnie December 27, 2010 / 22:52

    Merry Christmas, Maddog! We had our first White Christmas in Atlanta since 1882 which, in turn, canceled our plans to spend Christmas with out extended family in the N. GA mountains. We did NOTHING and it was perfect! I hope you enjoy your visit with your in laws!

  3. Lemuel December 28, 2010 / 06:45

    I hope you were able to enjoy the day if for no other reason than that you were with Adam. Have a safe return trip.
    (and, btw, nothing says C’mas like a Cowboys football game. ugggh.)

Leave a Reply

