Xmas Cards.

I’m tired.

It’s been a long night.  I wanted to be in bed hours ago and yet here I am.  It’s 5:00 and I’ve just started typing.

I’ve spent the last hour sending requests to friends for the addresses, just in case Adam and I actually get our Xmas cards made and we send them out.  We spend four hours on them on Sunday.  We have about 50 hours in front of us.  Embossing 200 cards takes a lot of time.  I’m gay for even knowing what embossing is.  Let alone how to do it.  Any way we have a long way to go.  And we need to try and get them done early this year.  I sent my cards out on December 23 last year.  I’m shooting for at least the 22nd this year.  It’s good to not set your goals to high.

I think I shock people when I ask for their addresses because NO ONE sends cards any more.  We are making it a tradition for us.  We get to spend the summer figuring out what they’ll look like.  And then we buy everything and put them together.  Over a very long time.

Now I must go to sleep.

5 thoughts on “Xmas Cards.

  1. Lemuel November 9, 2010 / 06:23

    We still send out in the neighborhood of about 125 – mostly to family friends from years past. We usually purchase, but sometimes we make our own. My wife makes a few and she embosses – so I know of what you write, but then… 😀 If I make them they are computer generated and printed. I don’t have the patience otherwise.

  2. Karen November 9, 2010 / 21:17

    I try to make cards instead of buying them. I get bogged down when I have to make too many of the same thing, tho. 200 of the same cards woudl be tedious.

    I can show you some of the cards I’ve made… as soon as I figure out how. I think they are on my facebook – look me up
    Karen Longacre DeFrank

  3. Karen November 9, 2010 / 21:19

    and then look in my photo albums for the one that says “cards”.

  4. Urspo November 9, 2010 / 22:44

    Started sending Christmas cards last year – it was rather fun to do. it is expensive and time-consuming.
    by the way, I promise to get you my address.

  5. dirkmancuso November 11, 2010 / 18:27

    Wow. 200 Christmas cards.

    I’ve sent exactly one in the last 20 years.

    Yeah, I’m a prick like that.

Leave a Reply

