Meemaw

It’s been a long night.

I developed a migraine toward the end of the night.  By the time I got on the train I was feeling miserable.

I’ve been home a while now, eaten dinner, had a couple of Diet Cokes, a slice of Meemaw’s Red Cake and I’m feeling much better.  Let’s hope this doesn’t tend to be a trend over the next several days.  Typically I get them in spurts, and then they go away.

Work sort of sucked ass tonight.  We were busy, I was trucking along and then it was like someone put the breaks on.  At 10:15 the restaurant emptied and we were empty the rest of the night.  I only sold 150 dollars over the last two hours I was there.  I also made the mistake of counting my riches while I was on break.  I recounted my pile of money three times because I was sure that I’d miscounted.  Unfortunately I had not.  Money wise my night sucked ass.

I also didn’t get my break until 11:00.  It’s kind of late in the game to be told to go sit down and relax for 30 minutes when you rather be doing your side work trying to get out as soon as possible.

I’ve said it before but just in case some of you haven’t heard.   If the lights are on.  The music is off.  The TV’s are off.  And there are NO other patrons in the restaurant, it’s a sign that you MIGHT want to pay the check and leave.  Oh.  By.  The.  Way.  Thanks for fucking making me wait an extra 30 minutes to leave for the nine dollars on 120 that you left me.  Fuckwads.

Did I mention Meemaw’s Red Cake?  (I need to ask Adam if that’s how you spell her name.)  She was Adam’s grandmother.  He was her favorite.  In the two years that I’ve known Adam he’s never said a single bad thing about her.  Nothing.  She had an amazing home, with an entirely PINK kitchen.  Pink refrigerator.  (Still in his dad’s garage.  And works!)  A pink stove.  A pink dishwasher.  And my favorite.  A pink PHONE.

She used to make Adam her famous RED CAKE.  In a word.  Awesome.  It’s I think my favorite thing he bakes.  We don’t get it very often but I could eat it every day.  It’s easily replaced my love for red velvet cake as my favorite.  It’s not even frosted.  You take it out of the oven, let it cool, and then start eating.  I just finished the last piece.  I hope he doesn’t get mad.

If Adam will let me I’ll scan a photo and post it of his grandmother’s pink kitchen.

2 thoughts on “Meemaw

  1. Lemuel October 26, 2010 / 05:12

    When I watch remodeling shows of homes from the 50’s there are an awful lot of pink baths and pink kitchens. (I think it was a Mamie Eisenhower syndrome.) When I remodeled our bath here last winter I found evidence of pink wallpaper. Let’s not go there again, people. m’k?

  2. Catrina October 26, 2010 / 11:24

    I’d LOVE to see the red cake! I thought you were talking about red velvet at first. Recipe should be forthcoming….right?

Leave a Reply

