Work. Ugh!

Today was day one of five at work this week.  I don’t get a lot of sympathy when I tell people how much I really work.  In the big scheme of things it’s really not that bad.  Typically I work four days a week.  Around 32 hours.  Of course after I give up a couple of shifts I end up with around 13 or 14 shifts for the month.

Rough huh.

That being said, five days is brutal.  I challenge any of you out there to come follow me at work one night.  Even the more physically fit of you would probably have trouble keeping up.  I start at 5:00.  I stop at 1:00.  There IS now a forced break around 10:30.  It does nothing more than make you realize how old you are when after thirty minutes you discover your joints are stiff from sitting down.  I did much better when I worked straight through.

This week I’m scheduled five days.  I asked for five days.  I wanted needed to work five days.  I need to get caught up.  Because of the job in Iowa somethings had to be allowed to be late to make it possible for me to go.  It’s not ideal at all, but what can you do.  I went to Iowa, did the job but didn’t get paid till 12 days after I returned.  That meant that I went almost five weeks with no income.  Kind of hard to do for almost everyone I know.  Adam picked up where he could but I was still in a hole when I returned.  So I HAD to work as much as possible this week.

And since I’d won the contest allowing me to write my own schedule, I chose to work five days.  I’m already regretting it.  And I’ve asked to work five days next week as well.  By the weekend of Halloween I’ll be dead.  I’ll be the ghost haunting you during trick or treat.

Of course it’s not so bad working five days this week because my stations are so good.  I’m in 12, 7, 12, 7, 12.  They are the two best sections in the restaurant.  So unless things go awry I should be in fine shape by the end of the week.  Next week I’ve asked to work 12, 12, 12, 12, 12.  It’s going to piss some people off but fuck em.  They could have won the contest too.

Speaking of the contest.  I saw my friend Daniel, the general manager today.  We chatted and he commented that he hasn’t seen any surveys filled out by me in the last week or so.  I jokingly say that it’s because they cancelled the contest for the month of October.  He says, “Why did they do that?”  I don’t know why they do these things.  I told him as much.  While I was standing there he called over the manager on duty and says, “We need to start that survey contest back up.  Immediately.”  Twenty minutes later in pre-shift it’s announced that starting November 1st it will resume.  That means sometime in December I’ll be able to write my own schedule again.  I said as much to James and Daniel and James wanted to know how I knew I’d win.  Then he winked and walked a way.

Now if I can only keep up my energy and not go crazy be the end of the week.

3 thoughts on “Work. Ugh!

  1. Karen October 19, 2010 / 19:48

    HA! I challenge YOU to do My job for five days! I start at 7:15 am at the jr. high school. For 40 minutes I am in the library, monitoring kids as they come in and out getting library books and returning old ones.
    Then I go to the elementary school. I teach two 40 minute classes – check in books, read a story, help kids find new books, monitor behavior. Then I am incharge of first grade lunch for thirty minutes. Then second grade lunch for thirty minutes. Drink all your milk!!
    Then a thirty minute lunch break.
    Then three more 40 minute classes. I am officially done for the day at 2:15. Most days I stay to clean up, check e-mail, run copies, etc.

    Then I come home and play mom and wife. It’s exhausting but I love it.

    Wanna switch for a day?

  2. Urspo October 19, 2010 / 22:52

    I am sending you energy – don’t get too exhausted now!

  3. rg October 20, 2010 / 04:33

    I feel your pain buddy. I’m on my feet 8 hours a day – I run the kitchens and conference rooms and special events at a large law firm in Boston – 9 kitchens and 18 conference rooms. Good luck with the contest – I wish I could set my own schedule! LOL

Leave a Reply

