Maddog Responds.

Comment left on my blog yesterday…

You should delete this post as it makes you look like a fool. A hypocritical fool. For you, of all people, to espouse freedom of religion is almost comical. You are quite the religious freedom fighter, unless it is Christianity. Perhaps you are not aware that Muslims believe homosexuality is punishable by death, and is often carried out in Muslim countries. I wonder how Iran’s gay marriage rights are coming along? While they do have a right to build a mosque near WTC, that does not make it the right thing to do. Let’s say a crazy member of Fred Phelp’s church blew up a GLBT center, and then good old Fred wanted to build a church on that site. I can just imagine the hate filled rant you would post in that situation, and “freedom of religion” would certainly not be a consideration.

Hmmm.

I’ve never been personally attacked on my blog before.  It’s kind of fun.

And since it’s my forum I get to respond how I like.

And since I’m not one to back down from a fight…

HERE GOES!

I appreciate your comment.  I really do.

But let’s look at some things.

As for looking like a fool.  You say this like I don’t know it.  Of course I look like a fool.  Sometimes.  We all do.  It’s called being human.  Am I a fool for this post?  I don’t think so.

You are right.  I don’t much like most christians.  Especially the ones who get on TV and spew their hate filled rhetoric.  Nope.  Don’t like them one bit.  I also don’t much like muslims and their hate filled rhetoric.  If you’d read the whole post which it appears you did not you one have seen that I’d love it if all organized religion went away.  ALL OF IT.  How many people have died because of the word of god?  How many.  Too many to count.  Too many died just today, if the truth was known.  I believe that if everyone gave up religion there’d be far more peace.  Far more tolerance for each other.  Let’s rule the land with man’s law.  Not a made up god’s law.

And since I’ve made clear that I don’t like organized religion I get to include the islamic faith.  Nope don’t like them much at all.  Yes, they espouse hate.  They treat women like shit.  They have laws that ban freedoms that everyone should have.  But I also know that not all muslims believe this.  And for every muslim that believes I should die, there is probably a christian who thinks the same thing, although probably not out loud.

I get to include all other faiths in this list as well.

All religions promise people things they can’t deliver and spend a lot of time on rules that are silly and unnecessary.  Don’t drink.  Don’t swear.  Don’t eat pork.  Don’t eat shellfish.  Don’t dance.  Don’t have sex.  Don’t listen to rock music.  Don’t be gay.  Don’t.  Don’t.  Don’t.  Very rarely do they tell you what you can do except prey.  And that wasn’t a poor choice of words.  Prey.  Prey on the weak.  Convince others to believe the stupid shit you believe.  Convince them to give their money so they too can get into heaven.  Promise them everlasting life.  Convince others to give up their joys in life and swear to be true and loyal to your one and only god.  You know the one that destroys entire cities in Louisiana (today’s the anniversary) for no real reason, although Pat Robertson would have you believe it’s because I’m gay.

Yes, you can pretty much say that I hate organized religion.

That being said, I do agree that you get to live your life the way you want it.  If you want to believe in an imaginary being that will whisk you away to a place where angels will play harps for all of eternity then you get that right.  If I want to believe that god is as real as Santa Claus and is no more likely to let me live forever than he’s going to let me win a billion dollars.  That’s MY right.  But you get to decide these things.  And as long as your rights don’t impose themselves on me we’ll get along fine.

And yes you are right, a lot of the muslim world believes that homosexuality should be punished by death.  And yes, everyday as a community we fight to change their views.  These countries also believe a lot of things we don’t support in the western world.  As I’ve already said not all muslims believe this.  I know several gay muslims.  I’m friends with a lot of people that practice the muslim religion.  And NONE of these people believe these things.  They’ve found the love that is taught in the Koran, much as some Christians are able to find the love that is taught in the bible.

And now to the big fuck up in your statement.

You say:  Let’s say a crazy member of Fred Phelp’s church blew up a GLBT center, and then good old Fred wanted to build a church on that site. I can just imagine the hate filled rant you would post in that situation, and “freedom of religion” would certainly not be a consideration.

Fred is an extremist.  Fred believes a lot of shit that the rest of the Christian world denounces.  The members of the muslim world that blew up the World Trade Centers were extremists.  Most of the muslim world denounce their actions.  The reality is:  it’s not extremist that want to build a community center.  It’s not extremist that want to share their religion with the community.  They are peaceful, loving people.  And they have a right to use their property as they want.  People on our side use the same logic to argue their point.  When is too soon to have a catholic church run a school?  When is too soon to let them build a cathedral next to a playground.  There have been far more children molested in the United States and had their lives ruined by “men of the cloth” than were killed on September 11.

Let them build their church.

Let them build their cathedrals.

Let them be gay.

Let them fuck doggie style on Sunday mornings while drinking wine and eating lobster.

Let them believe that god is the being behind all the evil in the world.

Let them believe that god is the being behind all the good in the world.

Believe what you want.

But your beliefs don’t get to supersede mine.  Your god doesn’t get to trump mine.  Your faith doesn’t get to be more authentic than mine.  If you are a christian which I assume you are because of the anger in your post, then remember this.  We are ALL created in god’s image.  And my image is just as beautiful and important as yours.

And if you don’t believe this.

Well then.

Fuck you!

PS.  Don’t ever tell me to delete one of my posts again.  I write what I feel.  It’s my blog.  If you don’t like what I have to say, then move a long.  There are almost 300,000 bloggers on WordPress.  Surely one of them believes in the shit that you believe in.  Go bother them.

6 thoughts on “Maddog Responds.

  1. Java August 29, 2010 / 21:09

    Good response, Maddog. Thank you.

  2. Peter August 30, 2010 / 02:28

    Well said, Maddog.

  3. Lemuel August 30, 2010 / 05:27

    Indeed, Maddog!
    One of the other themes that appears to be implied in your commenter’s text is another idiocy that has been put forth by those opposed to the community center, namely, “we can’t do thus-and-so in their country, so we’re not gonna let them do it here.” That would be okay perhaps if we did not claim to be the people that we say we are. We say it in our founding documents. We “preach” it on our national holidays. Yet it becomes clear that those such as your commenter, like Dick Cheney, consider our Constitution as “just a god damned piece of paper”. Frankly, I do not.

  4. Aarorn August 30, 2010 / 06:37

    Great response – thanks!

  5. Sarah August 30, 2010 / 10:57

    Why does that have to be explained over and over again? Shouldn’t that have been made clear during junior high civics classes?

  6. Urspo August 31, 2010 / 00:00

    that was marvelous.

Leave a Reply

