MADDOG’S RANTING AGAIN!

I’ve created a monster.  A year and a half ago he was just a quiet little passive boy who spent most of his time on a sofa watching reality TV.

This morning I wake up and discover that he’s chewed some guy named Jeff a new asshole for insinuating that the overturning of Prop 8 was performed by some hippie dropout judge who was taking away states rights.

Unfortunately, his friend Kara discovered first hand what happens when you let your liberal and conservative friends mix in public.  This dude Jeff opened a whole can of worms.  After about 15 exchanges one of her friends basically put him in his place.  Turns out Kara was upset about the whole thing and told Adam that she was going to delete her post in support of the ruling.  This prompted Adam to read her the riot act as well, although not in public.

I have to agree with him.

You can’t back away from your beliefs if you post something that you support and someone disagrees with you.  The time for passivity is long past.  We all have friends that don’t hold the same fundamental beliefs that we do.  I don’t believe in god.  I know that I have readers that do.  I support gay marriage.  I doubt many of my readers are against gay marriage because you probably wouldn’t be reading.  If you are however, let me know.  I am pro-choice.  I will never be in the position of having an abortion or causing some girl to need one, but it’s not my choice to make.  I’m in favor of gun control.  Say what you want, but if the guy who shot and killed people at the brewery this week had had a more difficult time getting his hands on a hand gun and shot gun some of those people might still be alive.  I’m pro-healthcare.  I’m a firm believer that it is a god given right to have healthcare.  I support the welfare system.  Everyone needs a hand up every once in a while.  I agree that it’s broken but I support it’s purpose.  I don’t believe our country can function without illegal immigrants, specifically Mexicans.  You might suggest that there is a middle aged white man who wants the job of cleaning my apartment but I doubt very seriously you could actually produce one.  I believe we spend too much on defense.  How many times do we need to be able to blow up the world.  What three, four nuclear bombs should do the trick.  What’s the point of the other 10,000,000?  I believe if we spent just 1/2 of what we spend on defense on education the country would be a whole shit load better off.  I think I should be able to give blood.  I find it interesting that I can’t give blood because I’ve had at least one sexual encounter with another man since 1902.  However, the prostitute down the street can donate all the blood she wants because she’s been having sex with “straight” men.  I think religion is given to much power in the US.  Who cares what the founding fathers thought.  Do NOT force your christian beliefs on me.  I believe that stem cell research is definitely going to change the way we think about medicine.  I don’t care where they come from.  If I’m dying of cancer use the little shit’s to make me better.  As for the sanctity of marriage.  Who gives a fuck what you think.  Who gives a fuck what I think.  Get married.  Get divorce.  Get married and divorced in the same day…Britteny.  I don’t care.  But don’t place your morals/values/beliefs on me.

Okay I got carried away.

My point is:  I have my beliefs.  You have your beliefs.  When you put them out there in a public forum…my blog…or Facebook you have to know that not everyone is going to agree with you.  You also have to know that there are going to be people like me who call you on it.  And Kara posted her opinion.  And her friend Jeff commented his disapproval and a debate was started.  Deleting the post doesn’t stop the debate.  That only says that you are afraid of the debate.  Stand up and speak your truth.

Okay.

So I’m going to do some more ranting.

So Bishop (I use the term loosely) Harry Jackson was quoted today as saying “It is not bigotry, it is biology that discriminates between same-sex couples and opposite-sex couples.”  Well I’d like to say that it’s not bigotry but biology that discriminates between blacks and whites.  He’s right there is a biological difference between gay couples and straight couples.  But there is also a biological difference between white people and black people.  I can no more choose to be gay than I can to be white.  I might wish I was straight.  I might go to the tanning salon and try to be darker.  But at the end of the day I’m gay.  I’m white.  And there really is nothing I can do about it.  Nothing at all really.

As for the sanctity of marriage.

Newt Gingrich had this to say about the Prop 8 ruling:  “Judge Walker’s ruling overturning Prop 8 is an outrageous disrespect for our Constitution and for the majority of people of the United States who believe marriage is the union of husband and wife. In every state of the union from California to Maine to Georgia, where the people have had a chance to vote they’ve affirmed that marriage is the union of one man and one woman. Congress now has the responsibility to act immediately to reaffirm marriage as a union of one man and one woman as our national policy.”

really?

Really?

REALLY?

REALLY???

REALLY?????

REALLY????????????

This man gets to comment on the sanctity of marriage.

REALLY?

Let’s replay the facts.

He gets married.

He cheats.

He visits his wife who’s battling cancer in the hospital to finalize their divorce.

He marries the woman he’s been cheating with.

He cheats.

He gets divorced.

He marries the woman he’s been cheating with.

So let me get this straight.  Marriage is between ONE MAN.  ONE WOMAN.  The voters have repeatedly said as much.

WELL WHO THE FUCK ARE THEY KIDDING.

IT’S BETWEEN ONE MAN AND THREE WOMEN.  OR ONE WOMAN TILL HE GETS BORED WITH YOU AND TRADES YOU IN FOR A BETTER MODEL.

Sorry I’m yelling.  It just pisses me off.  I don’t want him to tell me about the sanctity of marriage.  We need to be protected from his idea of marriage.  I don’t want to marry Adam so that I can cheat on him.  Divorce him.  Marry.  Rinse and repeat until I’m dead.  I want to marry him because I love him. I want to marry him because I can honestly see myself growing old with him.  Because I want him to have to change my diaper when I’m old.

I think I’ve forgotten what I’m writing about.  But it’s too late to edit.

I also find it interesting that the same people preaching that marriage is about the procreation of children would invest in some birth control.  First.  We don’t need them breeding any more stupid people.  Second.  There are already toooooo many people in the world.  How many more do we need.  No one should be told that the whole point of getting married is to have children.  That’s the LAST reason to get married.  THE LAST.  As children turning out better with both biological parents.  I only know that when I was teaching high school the kids I had with two parents were fucked up beyond belief.  The kids I had from broken homes, single parents, etc. were awesome.

Okay.  I really don’t know what I’m typing.  It’s 5:16.  I’m going to bed.

2 thoughts on “MADDOG’S RANTING AGAIN!

  1. Lemuel August 6, 2010 / 05:15

    Would you be interested in forming the “Maddog [political] Party”? 😀 I support nearly every point of your “platform”. I surely as hell find agreement with you more than I find with any of the present parties.

  2. Sarah August 6, 2010 / 06:25

    It’s interesting to me that bigots often use biology to support their beliefs that women, people of color and Jewish people are inferior and/or evil. Yet when it comes to gays and lesbians, suddenly biology is discarded in favour of a “lifestyle choice” argument. Those idiots are always saying this is not a civil rights matter because people don’t choose their skin colour and thus it’s okay to discriminate. These are same people act as if saying “happy holidays” to them is mortally wounding, when their religion is just a lifestyle choice.

    Oy, you’re going to get me worked up into a blog post soon.

Leave a Reply

