PROP 8 OVERTURNED!!!!!

It’s late.  Almost 5:00 a.m.  I’m going to bed.

PROP 8 OVERTURNED!!!

I hated that I was not with Adam when I heard.  I immediately thought of him.  Unfortunately I was too busy at work to call.  I was so happy that he came by work to let me know.  I actually hugged and kissed him in the restaurant tonight.  (I tend not to do that not because I’m gay but because I don’t think it’s kosher for anyone to be making out at work).  I suppose I’ll have to start shopping for a ring soon.  I guess I could always call Jared!!!

I was rather appalled at work when I shared the news of Prop 8 with two of my gay co-workers.  I’m not 100% sure they even knew what Prop 8 was and they really could have cared less about the decision.  I wanted to smack them in the head and tell them to wise up.  Instead I ignored them for the rest of the night.

It’s really worth the read to check out the whole ruling.  I started it tonight and got about 40 pages in.  It really shows what a lousy defense that was presented.  The judge basically says that not one of their witnesses presented any facts and that they weren’t qualified to offer their opinions.  I’ll read the rest tomorrow.

5 thoughts on “PROP 8 OVERTURNED!!!!!

  1. Lemuel August 5, 2010 / 05:45

    It *is* good news, but it is tempered by the sobering thought that it is only a step that will eventually end up before the Roberts’ Court.

  2. Sarah August 5, 2010 / 07:10

    Were your coworkers younger than you? I get insanely annoyed when younger women can’t identify themselves as feminists and have no understanding of what women had to fight for (access to credit, birth control, jury duty, maternity leave).

    I’m looking forward to hunkering down with the ruling in a couple of hours.

  3. javabear August 5, 2010 / 07:31

    I’m thrilled! I thought of you and Adam, among others. I watched and waited for the ruling yesterday, caught up in the excitement. Haven’t read the whole ruling and probably won’t, but I have read snippets of it.

    • Sarah August 5, 2010 / 10:54

      I’ve been reading it. It’s brilliant! It’s fun! The defense was almost willfully weak.

Leave a Reply

