To Buy or not to Buy?

Cell phones.

Cell phones.

Cell phones.

Right now I have a phone that makes calls.  It does that well.  It also let’s me text.  It would do that better if it didn’t keep telling me my text box was full.

I think I might be ready to buy a grown up phone.

Here’s my dilemma…

I want an I-phone.  Something fierce.  I have about 4,000 friends who have one, including an extra special one named Adam.  I’d love to have one for myself but I’m not willing to leave Verizon for AT&T.  Can’t do it.  Won’t do it.  Refuse to do it.

So I can either stick with my teenager phone that just makes calls or I can upgrade to a grown up phone.

Which gives me the choice of the Droid.

So here’s what I want to know…

Should I upgrade?

Droid X?

Droid Incredible?

Blackberry?

Do I keep holding out for Apple to go Verizon?

I’m trying to do the right thing.  Last time I thought I was upgrading I got the DARE and it SUCKED.  With a capital SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS.

Any thoughts oh mighty readers?

8 thoughts on “To Buy or not to Buy?

  1. Kelly August 1, 2010 / 06:33

    I have the Droid Hero… love it! But I am a PC guy and not a MAC guy…

  2. Karen August 1, 2010 / 09:14

    I’ve got the saem problem. Benn thinking about it for a long time. I have no problem with Verizon. But I want an Iphone. No droid. I don’t know anyone with a droid. To me it’s a cheap imitation. Probablay not true, but……. I’ll check back to read your comments.

  3. javabear August 1, 2010 / 10:05

    I recently got a Blackberry. It does what I need it to do and more. This is my first grown up phone, and I’ll probably never use most of the features. It came in handy on my recent road trip, however. C downloaded the VZ Navigator which helped us find our way around New England and lowered his anxiety levels. I like Verizon, have been using that service since I got my first cell phone back in the 90’s.

  4. Lemuel August 1, 2010 / 14:00

    recommend #1: don’t go with AT&T!!!!!
    as for the phone: I cannot speak by blogger friend Brad in Memphis just got a Blackberry and he’s been in geek heaven since.

  5. Tom August 1, 2010 / 20:54

    I have been pondering as well… but I am an AT&T customer… My monthly bill for calls and text runs about 52 bucks… With all the additional services you need to do all the additional things, I have friends with AT&T phones that pay more than $100 a month… that’s friggin crazy!

    Tom

  6. Tom August 1, 2010 / 20:56

    Oh, and BTW I always liked Verizon’s service better, but I switched, and now am sticking with the “A”

  7. Sarah August 3, 2010 / 09:17

    I lurve my iphone. Lurve it. Fortunately, up here, we have one big cell phone monopoly with little competition so we just all suffer with crap customer service and ridiculous rates and don’t have to worry about who switching to a crap service provider in order to have an iphone.

  8. Rich Monsoon August 11, 2010 / 04:13

    If or when the iphone moves to Verizon, they had better do something about their ridiculous data plans.
    If you don’t have some kind of data package, verizon charges $5/mb. Their $10 a month data plan gets you 25 mb. $10 gets you 2 gigs of data with AT&T. I currently have Verizon and cannot wait to be rid of it.

Leave a Reply

