We were not singing in the rain.

Tonight has not turned out at all like I expected it to.

I was supposed to work.

Then I was supposed to go to the theater.

Instead I did neither and I’m sitting at my computer while Adam bakes a cake.

I was scheduled to work tonight.  I started my day thinking I was working today.

And then my telephone rang.

And it was Adam.

He said, “I have two things to tell you.”

I said, “You got tickets to Shakespeare in the Park.”

He said, “Yes.  And.  It might rain.”

Fuck.

I hate when I’m tempted for any reason not to work.  When given the choice I almost always choose not to work.

Today however, I was trying to be good.  Adam even told me at one point that I HAD to work and he’d get someone else to go with him.

And then the weather forecast changed.  It was supposed to rain until around 7:00 and then taper off into a slight chance of showers.

He IM’d me and said, “What the hell!  Let’s go for it.”

So I called in and told the answering machine at work that I was sick.  First.  No one ever answers the phone in the manager’s office.  NEVER.  Second.  It’s the only place I’ve ever worked where no one seems to care if people call out.  They will take the worst excuses, no one seems to mind, and there are no penalties.  I have to admit that I’ve called out sick more times at this job than all my other jobs put together.

So I left my message.

Got showered and went downtown to meet Adam.

When I left our apartment, it was sprinkling.

When I got downtown it was heavier.

By the time Adam got off work it was raining ever harder.

We got up town to the theater, picked up the tickets and it was still raining but we were hoping for the best.

We walked back out of the park to get dinner.  At Pizzeria Uno’s.  Don’t judge.

By the time we got back to the theater at 7:45 it was pouring.  It continued to pour till 8:30 when they officially cancelled the first performance.

We then trudged back out of the park to the subway.  Uptown it was raining harder than it had all day.

So now I’m sitting at my computer while Adam bakes a cake.

Fuck.

2 thoughts on “We were not singing in the rain.

  1. Urspo June 10, 2010 / 01:02

    Send that rain here, and we both will be happier for it.

  2. Lemuel June 10, 2010 / 06:51

    It poured rain here all afternoon and all evening. As I began to read your post, I immediately thought “oh no!”

Leave a Reply

