Paddy Cake, Paddy Cake. Baker’s Man. Bake me a cake as fast as you can!

No complaining tonight.

Tonight is bragging.

A lot of bragging.

My boyfriend is awesome.

In a lot of ways.

Like he always has a sandwich waiting for me when I get home at night with a little hand written note that says I love you.

Like he made me pasta salad tonight because I randomly mentioned that I wanted some last week.

Like he does my laundry.  And doesn’t seem to mind.

Yeap.  He’s pretty amazing.

And he’s also very talented.

In a lot of ways.

He’s an amazing cook.

And an even better baker.  And since I’ve met him he’s started creating specialty cakes and cupcakes.

Here are some of his creations:

These are cupcake cheeseburgers.  He was asked to do cupcakes for a bake sale just after we met.  He invented these and he’s been getting at least one or two calls a month asking him to make more.

The last time he did them he created a little companion piece for them.

Yes.  Help yourself to a cheeseburger and fries.  You’ll find ketchup at the counter.

These are cupcakes he made at Valentine’s Day.  He made special one’s for me with private messages.

Butterflies.  All the wings are made of sugar and are hand painted.

Baseballs.

He also does fun cakes.  He carves them and then hand paints them.

These cakes are my favorite novelty cakes.

A lot of his clients have been found through the original bake sale.  Thus a lot of his cakes are for kids.

As far as novelty cakes go this was his most difficult and most amazing ever.  The face/mask/hat are all hand carved from a sheet cake and then hand painted.  It was for a swanky gay 40th birthday party.  We were both overwhelmed with how immense the party was going to be when we dropped the cake off.  The location was AMAZING.  Clearly I’m not doing something right or my 40th birthday party would have been that amazing.

He did companion cupcakes for the cake.   It’s hard to make a cake to feed two hundred people.  Most of them got cupcakes.

And then he does the most spectacularly beautiful cakes.

This is the cake he made for my mom’s birthday.  The peonies on top are all sugar flowers that are made one petal at a time then hand painted.

This is the cake and cupcakes that he made last year for the wedding in California.  Each cupcake was topped with a hydrangea bloom.  There were more than a hundred.  He made the cupcake tower too.

A birthday cake for a friend.

A birthday cake for a co-worker’s mom.  It’s a Tiffany box.  The ribbon is crafted out of sugar.

And probably one of the most impressive cakes he’s done.

Did you know when you start the decorating of a cake you carve off the top to level it out.  The remaining pieces are “cake parts.”  Those are for me.  When you make cheeseburger cupcakes half the cupcake is left after the process.  The leftovers are for me.  Did you know when someone orders 26 cupcakes that it’s almost impossible to bake them in such a precise number.  The extras are for me.  I’ve gained about 100 pounds since we’ve started dating.

He really is an amazing man.

2 thoughts on “Paddy Cake, Paddy Cake. Baker’s Man. Bake me a cake as fast as you can!

  1. Lemuel June 9, 2010 / 05:19

    Those cakes are totally awesome! I know that adjective is overused, but in this case it is true. As I look at the cakes I am impressed with the vision, the talent/artistry, and the patience(!) that it would take to create them.
    As for those cake parts… uh-oh!

  2. dirkmancuso June 12, 2010 / 15:50

    Oh. My. God.

    Those hamburger cupcakes look freakin’ amazing. And totally delicious.

    If Tristan baked like that I would have my own zip code by now. And my own gravitational pull.

Leave a Reply

