Good Morning.

This new theme was featured on the welcome page today.  I thought I’d see what it looked like.  I kind of like it.  What do you guys think?

So it looks like Kentucky is a go.  I’m going to make all the phone calls tomorrow.  I’m most excited about not waiting tables for a month.  I’m about as giddy as a school girl.

I’m also doing a show next week. It’s actually four one act plays.  A friend from grad school posted a message on Facebook needing a designer for a show.  I wrote to him and told him I’d like to talk to him about it.  Somehow that was translated into I’m doing it.  Which is all good, it will be fun to be creative and not have to wait tables next week.

The two big cons:

1.  It doesn’t pay.  At all.  It’s really just a favor.

2.  They don’t have any lights.  Dimmers.  Or a board.  In fact they didn’t know what they were doing.  They suggested I rent two dimmers and make that work.  I sort of laughed.  So I’m rummaging through the Xmas boxes tomorrow to find all the dimmers we used for the tree.  I’ll run extension cords from the work lights that they have and the board op will run it from there.

Oh, I should mention.  After I’m given the tour the producer of the shows says to me.  You should realize that the plays progress from early evening to late night.  So if you can incorporate that into the design that would be great.

He’ll be lucky if we can even see the fucking actors.  Let alone “incorporate” it into the design.

6 thoughts on “Good Morning.

  1. James March 20, 2010 / 09:35

    Since you asked, I really enjoy reading your blog. I check it almost daily. I do NOT like the new theme. Because you asked!

    I hope you and Adam have a GREAT NYC day!
    J

  2. Urspo March 20, 2010 / 10:20

    There is nothing like a new frock to brighten up the day – I like the new format.

    I hope the far of Kingdom of Kentucky works well for you.
    BTW- Kentucky, Land of ……..?
    I don’t know !

  3. Java March 20, 2010 / 17:51

    Kentucky, land of tornadoes.

    When do you go?

    I like the new theme, though it kinda threw me off when I opened up the blog. You know: where the fuck am I?

    It doesn’t pay? That means it will cost. I hope for your sake that it opens up some new possibilities for you. It will certainly be challenging, what with trying to light the stage with no lights. You do have a shining personality, though, so maybe that will be enough. 😉

  4. Rich Monsoon March 20, 2010 / 18:24

    I like the new layout. I don’t comment much, but I do check everyday for a new post.

  5. catrina March 20, 2010 / 20:06

    yep–like the new format, too

  6. Crash March 22, 2010 / 17:19

    If the actors can’t make the audience believe that it’s early evening (or late night), then it’s their problem.

Leave a Reply

