2/18

Usually I write about what I’m feeling.  About my life.  My complaints.  About the bitchy women who didn’t tip me.  Or the argument I had with Adam.  You know the usual stuff.

This weekend though, something happened that really perplexes me and more importantly scares me.

Andrew Joseph Stack

Last Thursday he flew his plane into the IRS building in Austin, Texas.

Yes.  This is a little late.  And I’d probably have let it go unnoticed if I hadn’t discovered this today.

It’s a Fan Page on Facebook.

There are people out there celebrating Stack’s attack.

And this is the point where I say WHAT THE FUCK!  Let me repeat that.  WHAT THE FUCK!

Everyone has a right to their opinion.  I happen to be a bleeding heart liberal.  You have the right to believe what ever you want.  We both have the right to argue our opinions.  And at the end of the day we have to agree to disagree.  We won the last election, eventually you’ll have your turn again.  The pendulum will always swing the other way.  It’s how politics in our country works.

But lately…

There has been an increase in the number of people who claim that our country as we know it is being destroyed.  The country that was fought for and died for is being ruined by the government that is currently in power.  These same people are urging an uprising.  Until this past weekend I assumed they meant to get out, campaign and change things.  Clearly my worst fears have been confirmed.

The people wh0 support this man, and if you click around on the internet there are hundreds of sites praising his actions, are fucking scary.  I don’t care what or who you support they are fucking scary.  These people believe that the only way to stop the path our country is on is to take up arms and fight.  There are manifestos on YouTube encouraging people to stockpile weapons and to prepare for the coming war.  There are Facebook fan pages for all of the above.  Although I know people who will argue with me, but a lot of the people who are attending Tea Party meetings are supporters of this idea.  When a man shows up to a Presidential speech caring a gun you know things are changing for the worse.  And let’s face it “The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants.” is being tossed around and around and around.  Clearly these are not just words any more.

So here’s my question:

How is this Stack fellow any different than the World Trade Center pilots?  All of them hated what our country has come to stand for.  All of them saw death and martyrdom as a way to spread their message.  In both attacks innocent people died.  Do you think if Stack had been muslim they’d be singing his praises?  I think not.  He is a man who used terror as a way to spread his message.

It scares me to think what’s on the horizon.

3 thoughts on “2/18

  1. Lemuel February 23, 2010 / 06:35

    I fear that you have every reason to be scared. I lived most of my life through eras in which the candidates I supported won and in which they lost. Throughout most of those times I and those around me took our lumps when our candidates lost and lived through their years in office. For the most part it was not so bad. We survived. And in like manner those who supported the other guy why my guy (or gal) won survived our years.
    But this time is different. These people (who will scream democracy and freedom at the drop of a hat) cannot fathom that their guy did not win. Their answer is not in ballots, but in bullets.
    I think most of their anger is racially/ethnically motivated. They understand that white Anglos are quickly becoming just another part of the pie and no longer control the whole pie.

  2. catrina February 23, 2010 / 10:12

    I agree–it’s very scary. And all because the teabaggers are pissed because their guy lost. Instead of bucking up and supporting the office of the President and our country, they’re hell-bent on destroying it. Yeah, I’m scared.

  3. Sarah February 23, 2010 / 10:29

    He’s a criminal. He commited arson and attempted to kill his wife and child in the fire. He destroyed property and killed a person. He was an entitled white boy.

    Karl Rove studied all the propaganda masters (eg Goebels). In order to win elections (and be insanely successful in his line of work), he let loose the shit Americans always knew to keep in the box. He brought divisiveness and demonization and disrespect to the political because history showed morons are easily led if you couch your arguments in fear. Fear makes people angry. The thing is these unwashed masses have to remain angry to keep the privileged few in power. Ever notice that Fox News never celebrates anything about America. It is on a constant loop of misery.

    The rise of anti-intellectualism is what is scaring me the most. Honestly, half these people would probably say they would rather their children be less educated than they are. And since they are home-schooling and making up their own “science” and building their own universities, their wish will come true.

Leave a Reply

