Christmas Vacation Part 9

The saga continues…

So we go in quietly to Adam’s Dad’s house.  Very quietly.  It’s 2:30 a.m.  We’re tired.  And want nothing more than to be in bed.

We get all of our stuff into our room, brush our teeth and get into bed.

This is the first time in 35 years Adam’s brought someone home with him.  His parents came to NYC and met Robert his partner at the time.  But he’s never taken anyone into their life before.  I have no idea what this means for me.  Are they going to hate me?  Are they going to be resentful for having our “lifestyle” slammed in their face.

And how do we navigate sleeping together?

I wasn’t privy to the conversation but I guess Adam alluded that we could either sleep in the guest room or his dad’s room which ever they preferred.  Adam likes to push his dad’s buttons.

So we sleep together.  In the guest room.

We turn off the light.  We go to sleep.

In three seconds it’s morning.  I’m still wanting to sleep.  I could sleep all day.  Adam has other plans for us.  I finally realize that I’m not going to win this battle.  So I tell him I’m getting up.  He tells me that he’s going to go see if the coffee’s brewing and to come out when I’m ready.

I really want to stay in bed to put off the meeting of his parents as long as I can.  The last time I met someone’s parents was in 1996.  It’s very stressful.  VERY STRESSFUL.

Of course I can’t put this off forever.

I get up.  Throw on some shorts.

I take a deep breath and I walk out of our room, turn left, pass through the family room and into the kitchen.

Maureen, Adam’s stepmom has her back to me.  She’s cooking something.  She turns just as I’m getting to the counter.  I don’t remember what she said, but it was with TONS of excitement.  She gave me a big hug, told me to sit down and that she’d get me some coffee.  I loved her already.

She poured us coffee and then pulled breakfast out of the oven.  If I’m not mistaken it was some sort of coffee cake.  It was definitely sweet.  And delicious.

And Adam and I sat there, next to each other on stools at the counter while Maureen stood on the other side and chatted with us.

And then the front door opened and Maureen said, “Hello there, Kelly.”

The moment of truth was at hand.

MEETING ADAM’S DAD!!!

3 thoughts on “Christmas Vacation Part 9

  1. Karen January 22, 2010 / 22:07

    you better not make us wait and wait and wait like you have in the past!

    Finish the story PLEASE!!!

  2. Urspo January 23, 2010 / 18:37

    such a fun read! you tell a good tale !

Leave a Reply

