Christmas Vacation Part 8

So we leave Sonic.

And we get on 44 and we drive south.

As we drive we see the following signs.

“Adult Video”

“Precious Moments Chapel”

We immediately got excited about both.

How could you not get excited about both.

So we drive.

And drive.

And we continue to see signs for both.

And then we see the “Adult Video” next exit sign.

And well, we decide to stop and see what all the excitement is about.

So we park.

Adam is very nervous.

You’d never know that we met in a place like this.

I want to go in more than anything to see if they have a restroom.  I’ve had to pee for an hour.

So we get out and go in.

It looks just like every other store I’ve ever been in in my life.

I see the restroom sign and I run for it.

Adam is huddled by the door in fear when I come out.

I promise him I’ll be close by when he’s finished.

While he’s in there I go up and say the guy behind the counter…

“Hi.  How’s this all work?”

I’m told,

“Well.  There’s a theater in the back.  It’s ten dollars per person.”  He then whispers, “Are you guys a couple?  If you both want to go in I’ll let you in for fifteen but you only get one key.”  Hmmm.  Decisions, decisions.

I ask for change for my twenty and wait for Adam to come out of the restroom

He arrives.  He’s still nervous.

I ask him if he wants to go.

He says no.  I say okay.

So we head to the back of the store.

And we find a nice booth that is private and secluded.

And we have a little fun.

And then we zip up.

And leave.

We were there for about three minutes total.

We get into the car and we drive.

And drive.

And drive.

And drive.

And drive.

And we get to the Precious Moments Chapel to late to go in.

So we drive.

And drive.

And drive.

And we pass through Tulsa.

And we drive.

And we pass through Oklahoma City.

And we drive.

And we drive.

And we drive out of Oklahoma into Texas.

And we drive.

And drive.

And finally we get to some dark, secluded country road.

And Adam turns.

At this point he’s either on the way to his dad’s house or he’s going to kill me and dump on the side of the road.

And we drive on completely straight, no hills, no curves road for sixty minutes.  It is in complete darkness with no light anywhere.  Not in front of us, or behind us.  Just the lights from the car.  And the black void.

It’s eerily peaceful and scary all at the same time.

This is made all that much scarier by Adam telling me that his dad said to watch out for deer and wild hogs.  That if we hit one it might kill us.  He says this as he inches the car up to 85.

I grab onto the door handle and try not to be a “pussy.”

And then out of the darkness comes a light.

And then another light.

And another.

and he announces that we are in his hometown.

We pull into the drive way.

I’m terrified at this point.

He turns the car off.

I ask him if it’s too late to turn around and go back.

He says no.

So.

I take a deep breath and step out of the car…

One thought on “Christmas Vacation Part 8

  1. Urspo January 21, 2010 / 23:48

    the suspense is killing I hope it lasts!

Leave a Reply

