Maddog’s Date Day…

Today was date day with my bf.  We have been doing them pretty regularly since the holidays are over and we don’t have millions of other plans.

So today we:

Saw Avatar.  We both liked it a lot.  Yes it’s heavy handed and the message isn’t subtle at all.  And some of James Cameron’s dialogue leaves something to be desired but we were both drawn in and loved it.

Then we movie hopped (paying for one movie but seeing two).  This is easy on 42nd Street in Times Square.  There are 25 theaters in the AMC complex, you show your ticket at the top of the escalator and then you are on your own.  We saw Avatar at 3:00.  We saw Nine at 7:00.

As for Nine.  It’s boring.  Boring.  Boring.  It seemed to take forever.  And it’s funny I knew most of the songs in the show but I couldn’t have told you that they were from Nine.  It’s not a memorable show.  The musical numbers were hot, but not worth two hours of my time.

So that’s movie time.

Then we walked hand in hand for almost two hours.  We strolled down through Chelsea and then into the Village.  Around 11:00 I decided we should get a drink.  However, I didn’t want to go to a “bar” and listen to loud music and people watch.  I wanted a bar where we could get a glass of wine, sit there somewhat quietly and talk.  And not have it cost forty dollars.  That’s hard to do on a Saturday night.  So, we walked and walked and finally ended up back in Chelsea at Tello. It’s the first time we’ve been at it’s new location.  It moved from a quaint, tiny restaurant to a bigger space.  It’s lost a little of it’s NYC charm but it’s still nice.  Neither of us thought about it till we were sitting at the bar, but I took Adam to Tello for our second date.  I’d picked up an extra shift the night before and I treated to a meal with wine, dessert etc.  We were three days late but it was nice to revisit the beginnings of our relationship a year ago.

After the wine we figured it might be time for dinner.  Yes, it was late, but we’d taken cookies and candy into the theater with us, and Adam had a free popcorn coupon so we’d had plenty to eat earlier.  We wanted to go someplace that wasn’t a diner and since it was so late we didn’t have a lot of options.  Adam suggested Cafeteria, and so we headed that way.  We were walking down the street and passed Elmo’s.  I didn’t even know it had a name.  The sign out front just says Restaurant.  Both of these places are a bit of a scene.  Not my place but at midnight, it was either that or a diner.  Adam told me to choose.  I chose Elmo.  We sat down and ate.

Dinner was awesome. It was just us and one other table.  They closed at 1:00 and hour later so we didn’t mind.  We had a cocktail, dinner, made out in the corner booth and chatted about love, life, our relationship, poop.  Yes it was a romantic evening.

We got home about three minutes ago to discover that Danielle had broken our coffee pot.  I was PISSED.  Not that she broke it, but that she hadn’t called.  We passed by a dozen places that we could have stopped and picked up a new one.  Now there will be no coffee in the am.

Fuck.

I think I’ll go have sex with my boyfriend  to cheer myself up.

4 thoughts on “Maddog’s Date Day…

  1. Rick January 17, 2010 / 08:41

    Glad you’re having dates…and congratulations on your first year!

    I like Avatar too but don’t think I could have sat for another movie right afterward. 3 hours was long enough!

  2. Lemuel January 17, 2010 / 13:48

    I like the idea of dining some place quiet and somewhat intimate rather than a place in which you must shout at each other to be heard.

  3. Urspo January 18, 2010 / 23:49

    sex with one’s BF is need a good panacea for bad moods.

  4. Java January 30, 2010 / 09:58

    Sex as a substitute for coffee. Hmm. Probably the only thing that would adequately substitute for coffee, at least until the caffeine withdrawal headache started.

Leave a Reply

