Maddog’s Day Dream. Part 2.

I found another job listing today for a position that I would fill perfectly.

It’s in Sherman, Texas.

Hmmm.

I sent Adam an email asking him if he’d follow me there if I got the job…

Hmmm.

Maybe it’s just me but I have a hard time seeing us walk down the streets in Sherman, Texas holding hands.

The last important thing historically to happen there according to Wikipedia is a race riot, where the courthouse was burned to the ground killing the black man hidden in the vault.  When the body was discovered it was dragged behind a car, hung and then set on fire.  Now granted that was in the 1930’s.  But it is small town Texas.  And I know that anyone can update a Wikipedia entry but the following sentence is in the entry:

“Despite the available schools in the Sherman area, most of the residents are extremely un-educated. To the average person, it would seem Sherman is about 20 years behind the rest of the world.”

Hmmm.

I know I should make fun of small town America.  But I come from small town America and I don’t have a lot of desire to return there.  My idea of fun is NOT wearing camouflage down to the Walmart to pick up ammo for my rifle so I can hunt small animals for fun.  I want to hunt my meat like civilized people at the grocery store.

Of course Adam will be excited to find out they have a Walmart Supercenter.  And there’s another store only 8 miles away.  And in less that 50 miles in any direction there are 20 Walmarts.  I’m sure he’s starting to get excited about this after all.

To sweeten the deal a little more for him:

There are two Sonic’s in town.  And if you are willing to drive at least 10 miles there are a total of five.

Of course it’s 25 miles to the nearest Long John Silvers but we could make do.

It’s only four hours from his home town.

Of course it’s only an hour from Dallas so maybe we aren’t completely in the middle of nowhere.  There might actually be gay people in Dallas.

For 200,000 dollars we could get a 3 bedroom, 2.5 baths with an in-ground pool, and private guest quarters.

They do have 1.5 million dollar homes in the area as well so maybe we could find rich “benefactors” to support us.

For 50,000 we could live here:  Sherman House

For 13,000 we could live here. It does Sit on two lots which makes it VERY desirable.

Enough playing.

I have a boyfriend waiting for me to join him in bed.

Let me know if you think I should apply for the job in Sherman, Texas.

4 thoughts on “Maddog’s Day Dream. Part 2.

  1. Lemuel January 8, 2010 / 08:58

    Are you nuts? 🙂

  2. javabear January 8, 2010 / 10:21

    Oh. My. I looked at those homes you linked to. Frightening. Did you notice the address on that first one? Dripping Springs Road. Sounds like a major plumbing problem.

    Wal-Mart is a mixed blessing. Sonic is good, in moderation. It’s difficult for me to imagine you going from NYC to Sherman, TX. What does Adam say?

    What about going from Sherman, TX to NYC? The town I live in sounds a lot like Sherman, TX, including the Wal-Mart and Sonic. We don’t even have a Target here. Nor a Homo Depot. I’m toying with the idea of applying to grad school in NYC. Probably won’t do it, but the idea is out there. My main hesitation concerns living expenses in NYC.

    Also, what Lemuel says.

  3. catrina January 8, 2010 / 13:21

    Not that it really matters, but what is the job you’d be applying for? Unless it was for the Grand Poobah of Sherman, with an annual income of a bizillion dollars, I’m saying HELL NO!!!!!!

  4. bodie January 8, 2010 / 15:04

    Walk, don’t run, away from this – YOU DO NOT WANT TO MOVE TO TEXAS! Take it from a Texan who left.

Leave a Reply

