Happy New Year!!!

I didn’t work last night.

I know I was supposed to.

I even bundled myself up and took myself downtown.  I kissed Adam goodbye at 43rd and 8th and proceeded to show my pass and go through the first security check points.  And I passed through the second and third security check points.  And then I ran into two friends from work and we wormed our way out into the street to admire the crowd and the energy.

We were standing there looking down the street at the ball when Jeremy came out of the restaurant.

I’m sure there was a look of surprise.

“You GET to go home?”

“Yeah.  They asked if anyone wanted to leave and I said sure.”

“Would you perhaps like to stay for me?”

“I would but I’m tired.”

“Are you SURE?”

“I know, I know but I’m tired.”

How about for 20 bucks?

“Hmmm…”

“How about for 40 bucks?”

“Hmmm…”

“How about for 50 bucks.”

“Well…Okay”

The whole time this is going on I’m thinking to myself that I should just stay and work.  I need the money, it will be over soon and more than anything I need the money.

BUT

I’m also thinking that it would be FUCKING awesome to get to spend New Year’s Eve with my boyfriend.  Especially since it’s out first New Year’s Eve together.

So.

Jeremy and I walked into the restaurant.  I found the manager on duty.  I told him what was happening.  And two minutes later I was passing back through the security check points going in the other direction.

Adam was both happy and annoyed when he found out what I’d done.

I made it up to him later.

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year!!!

  1. Rick January 2, 2010 / 07:16

    Hope you enjoyed. Happy New Year!

  2. Java January 2, 2010 / 10:53

    That’s the ticket. Accentuate the positive!

  3. Urspo January 2, 2010 / 11:52

    A better way to start the year, that.

  4. catrina January 2, 2010 / 16:58

    It’s only money, right? I admire that you have your priorities in order, and I’m sure Adam does too!

Leave a Reply

