Maddog’s Christmas Vacation…

Good evening boys and girls.

I know I’ve been missing in action for the past week or so.

Here’s what has been going on.

On Saturday, December 19th, Adam and I got into a car and drove 30 hours to Texas to spend Christmas with his family.

Yes.

Adam.

Me.

In small town.

Texas.

Population 2479 2478.

Okay, pick your chins up off the floor.

As always I’ll spend a few days telling you all about the trip.  Just keep me on track.  Sometimes I get distracted and never finish the story.

We got into the car around 10:00 a.m. on Saturday morning.  I had worked the night before so I was pretty useless as Adam got things ready to go.  Actually I’d been pretty useless for the whole week but I’ll tell you all about that later.  We loaded the car, stopped at Starbucks for coffee, McDonald’s for Diet Coke and around 11:00 or so we crossed the George Washington Bridge.  We were actually nervous and anxious.  The weather forecast was predicting insane amounts of snow on Saturday.  We were watching the news the entire time we were getting ready and they were really counting it down.  I felt like we were in a disaster movie.  The storm is 60 miles outside the city.  The storm is 30 miles outside the city.  The storm in 12 miles outside the city.  That was the report as we drove across the bridge.

We drove about 30 minutes before the snow started.  Adam was driving, and I was trying to stay awake for at least the beginning of the trip.  By noon the snow was really coming down.  By 1:00 the roads were covered.

And the tension between Adam and me was building.

I’m 44.  I’ve outlived my dangerous carefree days.  I tend to live on the side of cautious now.  I’ve been the crazy one.  I once drove from Atlanta to Lexington in five hours.  At 60 miles an hour it’s a six hour drive.  For most of the trip I was topping 90 and sometimes 100.  Been there done that.

Adam not so much.

About ten minutes into driving in the snow I look over and see that he’s going 75.

An hour later I’m begging him to slow down.

He inches the speedometer up five miles and calls me a pussy.

I beg him to slow down.

He whispers pussy under his breath.

With one hand I’m gripping the door handle.  With the other I’m gripping the seat belt.  I’m not religious but I was starting to pray.

He continued to drive fast.

I ask him to slow down.

He tells me when I’m driving I can drive as fast as I want to.  He’s driving, he’ll go as fast as he wants to.

I finally let it go and put the seat back and fall asleep.  I figure if I’m going to die, I might as well be rested for it.

When I wake up, the snow is still falling and he’s still driving fast.

I just let it go.

It snowed from Stroudsburg, PA to Columbus, OH.  In Columbus the snow stopped, the skies cleared and all was good.

Adam pulled over and let me drive.

I got to drive the last three hours to Lexington.

Nice of him don’t you think?

We got there around 2:00 a.m.  All kidding aside it did take us much longer to get there than it should have because of the weather.

He did drive fast though.

And he did call me a pussy.

6 thoughts on “Maddog’s Christmas Vacation…

  1. Peter December 30, 2009 / 05:30

    There’s one good thing in this post, you didn’t start with the point you broke up with Adam. But driving in weather like that is a good test for a relationship.

  2. Rick December 30, 2009 / 07:35

    Well at least you made it back alive to tell the story. Looking forward to the rest…

  3. Lemuel December 30, 2009 / 07:45

    Good thing that Adam went NYC to S’burg to Columbus rather than NYC to Phila to DC on that trip.

  4. Urspo December 30, 2009 / 23:30

    dear me that was not a good story. Alarm bells galore going off here.

  5. Java December 31, 2009 / 00:01

    I hate when that happens. Good for you, though, for going to sleep. Really, the more you fuss, the more likely he is to rebel. Glad you made it back, I assume safely.

  6. dirkmancuso January 5, 2010 / 15:50

    Awwwwww, Christmas with your man’s family.

    That’s something I’ll never do.

Leave a Reply

