Michelle comes to NYC.

I was in a bad mood last weekend and didn’t post.

So in the need to be a little more positive than I have been, I thought I’d tell you about last weekend.

Last Friday my best friend in the whole wide world came to visit.

Michelle.

It’s the first time she’s been in NYC since 2004.  Yes you heard that right.  Although I go to Maine at least three or four times a year, she’s never come to visit since I moved back to the city.  I made sure I reminded her of this fact as often as I could.

So she arrived and we spent the whole weekend playing, laughing and having a good time.

Friday we went to my restaurant and had lunch.  I think she was underwhelmed.  Then we met Adam and brought him coffee.

The rest of the afternoon was spent having cocktails at The Ritz, a little gay bar in Hell’s Kitchen.  Adam came by after work and we had a few more cocktails and then it was off to the Theaaater.

Adam had a connection with someone at Dreamgirls being performed at the world famous Apollo and got us all free tickets.  The show was amazing.  I’ve known the music since about two minutes after the original cast recording was made, although I’ve never seen the show.  In fact I didn’t even know the plot until the movie came out.  Needless to say, seeing it on stage is about a thousand times better.  Watching Effie pull downstage and belt I’m Not Going was breath taking.  The audience stood in unison at the end of the song, and it’s not even the end of the act.  The design on the show was pretty amazing as well and there was a couple of times that I was cumming in my pants from the lighting.

On Saturday we went downtown to mine and Adams little dive breakfast place.  La Bonbonniere.  It’s epitomized the definition of the word dive.  It only seats about 30 people, it’s cramped and tight, the bathroom is down steep stair nestled in the corner of the basement.  You can’t actually stand up straight in there.  The ceilings about 5’10”.  There are odd photographs of food pinned up on the walls.  And the food is awesome, fast and cheap.  We all three had breakfast, shared pancakes and it was less than 25 dollars.

We then ran a few errand and it was back uptown to prepare for mine and Adam’s first dinner party.  In honor of Michelle being in town, the fact that she hadn’t met two of my other favorite people in the world, Kelly and Chuck, Adam and I (mostly me) decided to throw a dinner party.  Of course all this was dependent upon Adam cooking since I was not allowed to bring my crock pot with me when I moved making spaghetti pie out of the question.

So on Saturday afternoon Adam did his amazing thing and whipped up homemade squash soup, mussels, salad with Adam’s secret recipe dressing, and to finish it off creme brulee.  All of this was of course served with amazing wine and champagne.  The night was perfect.

Sort of.

Adam has told me all along that he loves to cook.  He loves to have dinner parties.  He loves having people over.  Until it actually happens.  Then he stresses.  What it amounts to is that he hates the hosting part.  Even with people he already knows and is good friends with.  He would much rather hide in the kitchen and cook popping out every hour or so to say hello.  He was in such a bad mood on Saturday I thought I had done something wrong.  After the fact he explained all of this to me…once again.  I suggested we forgo any future parties and this upset him.  Of course not.  He loves having people over.  He loves dinner parties.  He just hates hosting.  I don’t know how this is ever going to work.  Especially this coming Sunday.

The party was great.  Everyone had a great time.  We managed to include politics and religion in the conversations without anyone getting upset and as promised Michelle managed to bring up pedophilia on more than one occasion.

On Sunday we had homemade waffles for breakfast.  One of my favorite Sunday breakfast items that Adam makes.  On a typical Sunday I’ll plant myself at the end of the counter with a HUGE cup of coffee and chat with him while he makes waffles, french toast, cinnamon rolls, bacon, eggs, etc.  It’s a great way to start our day together.  We had our waffles and then headed downtown.  I don’t even remember where we were going.  Michelle wanted to buy a couple of presents before she headed home and we just wanted to enjoy the day.

After much walking we ended up at Stonewall and played a couple of games of pool.  Adam and I enjoy playing each other more than we liked playing with Michelle.  She’s good.  We suck.  She won every game.  Then it was off for Mexican food at our favorite Mexican food dive.

And then it was home.

Michelle flew home on Monday.  I was tired, but it was a great weekend.

And this Sunday????

Adam and I are hosting our first annual (our two last names shortened and combined into one name) Christmas party.

I’ve made him promise that he won’t be in a bad mood all weekend.

Keep your fingers crossed.

I’m not spell checking or editing.  I have to go to bed so I can get up early and clean.

2 thoughts on “Michelle comes to NYC.

  1. javabear December 12, 2009 / 06:27

    Good luck with the first annual Christmas party! Really, though, you can host and he can cook. It sounds like a good split to me. If I were there I’d hide in the kitchen and help cook, though I suspect that Adam isn’t the type who likes to share his kitchen.

    Glad you had a good weekend with Michelle there.

  2. Urspo December 12, 2009 / 23:34

    I too hope your first party is a splendid one; you two have good memories or such and it becomes a yearly event.

Leave a Reply

