Brrrrrrrr!

It’s cold here.

I didn’t know it was going to be cold.

When I left for work it was not very cold.

I went to work wearing a light jacket.

I didn’t think I was going to make it home tonight as I walked from the subway.  It’s fucking cold.

Tomorrow I will watch NY 1 before I leave the house.

Thank god we were finally busy tonight.  And thank god people were finally tipping.  I walked with 15% of my sales tonight and considering I tipped out 5% of my sales, that means at the end of the night I had made 20%.  Which is impressive because I know that I was stiffed on a 150 dollar check.  That means I was over tipped enough to make up for the 30 dollar tip I didn’t get.

Something happened tonight that happens a lot at work.

I dropped off the check for a foreign couple.  I picked up their credit card a few minutes later, ran it and returned it to them.  When I returned to the table they were gone but they’d left cash with their credit card slip.  And they had tipped 15 dollars, but they also put 15 dollars on the tip part of the credit card receipt.  For the life of me I can’t figure out why they do this.  They have to know they’ll be charged the total that’s written in the total line of the card.  In fact I have to close it out to the total.  I do have to admit that most of us don’t mind when this happens because you get double tipped, but as I said I can’t for the life of me figure out why they do this.

On the same note:

When you go out to eat, don’t mistakenly take the credit card receipt with you.  If you leave with the signed copy the waiter gets nothing.  Also check your math.  If you add your tip to the total and miss carrying the one the waiter might end up being shorted on their tip.  Of course don’t be upset if you carry the one too many times and you double tip the waiter.  We are required to close the check out to the total on the slip.

Oh.

And I had another walk out tonight.  Four fucks from Jersey that got drinks from me and moved to the bar.  I went to get their check to transfer it to the bar and when I returned they were gone.  If you want a glimmer at what they look like, check out Jersey Shores on MTV.  It was a guido, guidette, and their fucking parents.  The girl actually had one of those things in hair that “bumps” it up.  Scary very scary.  Luckily management doesn’t seem to get upset when it happens in cocktails.  I think it’s because we deal with so many customers.  I’m starting to think that I should ask for a credit card to run a tab on people at my counters.  The weird thing about this is that I’ve waited tables in a million places for a million years and I never had a walkout till I started this job.

One thought on “Brrrrrrrr!

  1. javabear December 12, 2009 / 06:30

    Do you ever remember the really good customers? Do you ever have really good customers? The bad ones stand out glaringly, I admit. The Philadelphia couple from your last post was egregious, and I recall much worse from earlier posts.

Leave a Reply

