Just let it go. Just let it go. Just let it go. Just let it go.

The shift tonight was just as much as fun as they’ve all been recently.

I told Adam tonight that I’m going to have to find a way to just let it go.  I don’t know how but I have to.

Things I learned tonight.  Seems this cunt girl named “A” might be who caused a lot of this.  I was told tonight that about a month ago she complained to management about it not being fair that the cocktail servers made more money than everyone else.  She also complained that it wasn’t fair that when station 11 gets cut that stations 10 and 12 pick up the extra tables.  Can anyone say FUCK HER!!!!

Perhaps I should take the time to tell management that she’d probably make more money if she spent less time in the back stairwell smoking pot.  Maybe I’ll just send them looking for her the next time she heads that way.  At this point I’m not afraid of being a little cut throat.

Just let it go.

Just let it go.

Just let it go.

Just let it go.

Did I mention that we have a new manager?  His name is Kurt.  With a “K”.  He’s 22.  He just graduated from restaurant training school.  He’s only ever worked as a bartender in a small Irish pub before he started work here.  I give him about six weeks till he implodes.  We are a high volume restaurant and our staff will eat him alive.  I’ll let you know how that goes.

I don’t really mind that I’m old enough to be his father.  I mind that he’s never had to make his money on the floor.  I think it gives a manager a much different vision of things if they’ve had to make their money in the trenches.

Do not tell the manager (Kurt, with a “K”) that you are ready to order and you haven’t seen me.  I stopped by three times to say hello and to see if you were ready and you waved me away because you needed, “more time.”

Tonight’s shift…

Do not get pissed at me when I ask to see your ID and you are only 22.  If I didn’t ask to see your ID it would be an insult.  And just because you friends are old enough to drink and have ID’s does not mean that I’ll let you slide.  Oh and….Sutter Home White Zinfandel?  Really?  Really?  And a whole bottle?  Really?  And just so you know.  I lied about keeping the bottle at the bar so it would get cold.  I had to get your glasses refilled at the bar because it comes in 2 liter bottles…

Do not get pissed at me when I come by and ask if you need another beer.  It’s my job.  It’s not my fault that you are fighting with your girlfriend.  It’s not my fault that you are begging her to sit back down and stay.  It IS my fault that I waited till the climax of that plea to come by and ask if you needed a beer.  I couldn’t help it.

Do not order your food from me if you want to sit somewhere else.  It’s not easy to let you move.  And it’s a supreme annoyance.

Do not order dessert when the restaurant is clearly closed and you are only one of five or six tables left.  And you are eating by yourself.  Get dessert at the deli down the street and take it back to your hotel.  Please!!!

Do not tell me three times that you need separate checks.  I heard you the first time.  I heard you the second time.  I heard you the third time.  I heard you all three times.  And do not tell me on the third time that “you just wanted to make sure I remembered, because I have lots of people that I’m waiting on.”  I’m paid to remember things like that.  And even if I did forget, I’m sure you would remind me.

And to the same lady.

Yes you told me you didn’t want the drink in the souvenir glass.  That’s why I didn’t charge you for the souvenir glass.  And no you did not pay 6.50 for that drink last month.  Here’s the deal.  We don’t have a mixed drink that’s 6.50.  We don’t have any drinks that are 6.50.  AND!!!!  You didn’t order that drink last month.  It’s a Christmas drink.  It’s only been on the menu two weeks.  Now pay your fucking check.

And last but not least.

If you have to tell me your LIT needs to be strong then you have  drinking problem.  It’s the strongest drink on the menu.  And the fact that it’s too dark doesn’t mean anything.  It’s just because they added more Coke than sour mix.  The alcohol amount doesn’t change.  If you need a drink that tastes strong, then try scotch, vodka, gin, bourbon, tequila etc on the rocks or straight up.  It’s actually cheaper, you get more booze and it will always taste strong.  And you’ll look your age.  Not 22 which is the average age of someone who drinks a Long Island Tea.

I must go to bed now.  I get to do this all over tomorrow.

Just let it go.

Just let it go.

Just let it go.

Just let it go.

Just let it go.

Just let it go.

Just let it go.

Just let it go.

Just let it go.

Just let it go.

Just let it go.

Just let it go.

Just let it go.

Just let it go.

Just let it go.

Just let it go.

Just let it go.

Just let it go.

Just let it go.

Just let it go.

6 thoughts on “Just let it go. Just let it go. Just let it go. Just let it go.

  1. Lemuel December 9, 2009 / 06:24

    I completely agree with your comment about persons who are made managers who have never experienced the trenches. It’s not just in the restaurant biz. I think it has a good deal to do with why the country is eff’d up. Too many “managers” have no clue as to what they are managing.

  2. Rick December 9, 2009 / 06:41

    I take it you have a hard time of letting go?

  3. catrina December 9, 2009 / 09:49

    A group of friends and I went out to dinner last night, and had the most wonderful waitress! I told my friends about this guy named MadDog who’s in the restaurant biz and how rude people are to him. Breann (our waitress) was so cool–attentive, didn’t mind that we over-stayed our welcome (even though we didn’t ask for much), and even stopped by to wish my friend a happy birthday (we gave her a piece of cake to eat on her break). So after talking about you, I convinced everyone to leave Breann a BIG tip. That was in your honor, MadDog!

    • Maddog December 10, 2009 / 04:25

      You are my hero. Now if your friends tell two people and they tell two people and they tell two people soon no one will be rude to waiters and everyone will tip.

  4. Sarah December 9, 2009 / 10:18

    Oh, how you take me back.

  5. Peter December 10, 2009 / 05:03

    I know that businesses want cheap labor, so the younger the better [for them]. But they forget that learning it in the trenches is far better for a business, than cheap labor or just out of training.

Leave a Reply

