Our First Thanksgiving.

I had the final part of my root canal tonight.  It was as much fun as the first one.  In truth it didn’t really hurt that much.  A little pinch when I got the shot to numb my mouth and that was about it.  Of course the ordeal is still not over.  I have to go twice more to have the whole process completed.  I still don’t know how much all of this is costing me.  I have insurance which is a godsend but I’m not so naive to think that it’s all covered.  I haven’t bothered to ask because I really think as long as I don’t know then it’s all very affordable.  The first bill should come in the mail any day now.  I’ll let you know how I fare.

I spent the second part of the evening shopping.  With Adam.  For our first Thanksgiving.

Our plans have changed in the last month and as of a week ago we weren’t even sure what we were doing.  Originally my mom, my aunt, my cousin, her husband boyfriend and their three kids were supposed to come visit.  I had suspected all along that they wouldn’t come but I planned for it just in case.  About a week ago or so my mother finally committed to the fact that they weren’t coming.

Which left us the question of what to do?

We threw around several ideas.  Have other people over for dinner.  Go to my friend Nikki’s for her “orphan” dinner.  We finally decided to just have dinner together.  The two of us.  By ourselves.  I think we made the right choice.  We didn’t want to go to an orphan dinner because it alludes to the idea that we don’t have family to spend our holiday with, when in fact we’ve become each other’s family.  We didn’t want to invite people to our home because we are having people over the following weekend and we didn’t want the pressure.

So it’s going to be just the two of us.  And I can’t wait.

I’d originally asked off for Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday because my family was going to be in town.  When the plans changed it was too late to change my request.  However, it is Thanksgiving and there are many people who don’t want to work.  So I picked up shifts for Thursday and Friday day.  I haven’t worked a day shift in a while but I it should be okay.  The nice thing is that I’ll have the evening off for dinner on Thursday and then we can start our weekend together on Friday night.

As I type this Adam is in the kitchen doing something with the turkey.  I have no idea what he’s doing.  Luckily, since he’s the best boyfriend in the world, all I have to do is show up Thursday night and eat.  It’s sounds perfect to me.

It’s nice to have family you like to spend your holidays with.

6 thoughts on “Our First Thanksgiving.

  1. Lemuel November 25, 2009 / 06:24

    May you and Adam have a most pleasant and happy Thanksgiving together!

  2. javabear November 25, 2009 / 11:50

    I’m glad it’ll just be you two. That sounds so much better than hosting a bunch of crazy relatives. I don’t actually know if your relatives are crazy, I’m just projecting my insecurities on your situation.

    Enjoy yourselves. Happy Thanksgiving

  3. Urspo November 26, 2009 / 00:43

    Happy Thanksgiving to you both !

  4. Kelly November 26, 2009 / 11:24

    Hope you and Adam have a great first Turkey Day together…

  5. Rick November 30, 2009 / 06:19

    Hope you enjoyed!

  6. Bonnie December 2, 2009 / 09:16

    Missing you! I hope you had a great Thanksgiving and that your dental work didn’t break the bank.

Leave a Reply

