Dinner with the Queen.

The following occurred tonight at work.

A four top was sat.  Ordered.  The food arrived.  They ate.

The server seeing that the woman was finished with her dinner, approached the table and tried to clear the her plate.  At which point the women completely lost her shit because her plate was being cleared before everyone at the table was finished.  She then began to yell at the server because it was very rude of her to take her plate when others at the table were still eating.  At some point she she became completely indignant (my new favorite word) and demanded to see a manager.  When he arrived, she began again.

By the time I heard all of this the server was almost crying in the wait station, because of course, the manager didn’t take her side.  He let the guest be right.  At some point I guess our new “English” manager explained that this was an English custom that some people were very strict about.

And my comment.

FUCK HER!!!

This is not fine dining.  It’s not even close.  You are eating a hamburger with french fries using a fucking paper napkin.  The mayonnaise you were given is in a plastic ramekin, and you are quirting ketchup directly from the bottle.  When you order tea, it’s Lipton, and the mug isn’t even on a saucer.  And if I’m your server you don’t even get a spoon.  You get a little cocktail straw.  Hmmm.  The server was being rude.

Once again.

Fuck you.

You want to know what’s rude.  Going to another country and then proceeding to demand that your customs be followed.  Fuck you.  Fuck you.  Fuck you.  If I’d been your waiter I’d have laughed at you.  I might have gotten fired but I probably would have told you that you were being rude.  Seriously.  You don’t get to be indignant over a 13 dollar cheeseburger.  You want fine dining go find fine dining.  You want “proper” service, don’t go to high volume restaurant where the server’s job is to get you in and out in as little time as possible.  Don’t go to a restaurant where the other 99% of the people want their plates cleared as soon as they finished.  The next time you need “proper” service call up your fucking queen and see if she’s available for dinner.  Even better stay home and cook yourself and you won’t have to deal with this at all.

Oh.

And it’s really rude.

To yell and berate someone in public.

In the big scheme of things on the rudeness scale.

Clearing your plate early.  1.

Yelling at a server.  99

Once again.

FUCK.

YOU!!!!!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Dinner with the Queen.

  1. Lemuel November 21, 2009 / 07:04

    Your tale brought back trauma from my own past when I was publicly berated and humiliated in front of customers by a manager. In my case it was not the rudeness of the customer, though. It was the stupidity and blindness of the manager. My heart goes out to this server.

  2. catrina November 21, 2009 / 09:31

    Though the customer was 100% in the wrong (read rude ass bitch), the manager should have stepped up. I think the correct response would have been, ‘thank you for bringing it to my attention. I’ll handle it from here on out.’ But the manager disrespected the server, even the whole wait staff by taking that woman’s side–in public no less.

  3. javabear November 21, 2009 / 13:10

    Cluster-fuck from beginning to end. I feel really bad for the server.

  4. Urspo November 22, 2009 / 17:06

    I agree, bad manners and rudeness etc. should not be tolerated and managers should step in.

  5. Sarah December 1, 2009 / 09:04

    Any time I worked with that manager, I sure as shit wouldn’t ever clear another fucking plate from any table. If he complained I’d say, “But you said…”

Leave a Reply

